Poets from opposite ends of the universe

Thu, May 09, 2019

CHRISTINE VALTERS Paintner and Patrick Chapman are, in most ways, poets from opposite ends of the universe. Dreaming Of Stones is Valters Paintner’s debut collection while Open Season On The Moon is Chapman’s ninth.

Read more ...

Avengers: Endgame - saving the best until last

Thu, May 02, 2019

FINALLY WE are at the end of Marvel's incredibly ambitious film saga - 22 films, several TV shows, lots of toys and comics, so much money made, and now comes Avengers: Endgame, a direct sequel to last year's Avengers: Infinity War.

Read more ...

Advertisement

EP review: Body Type

Thu, May 02, 2019

THEY CALL themselves the "trash can girl band", giving the impression of a raw and raucous garage rock, but Body Type are a far more considered prospect than their self-description indicates.

Read more ...

Gripping thriller Spotless comes to Town Hall

Thu, Apr 25, 2019

Emma Willis, from The Young Offenders, and Ciara O’Callaghan, from Fair City, co-star in Gary Duggan’s potent new play, Spotless, which comes to the Town Hall, for one performance only, on Thursday May 2.

Read more ...

The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time; the greatest game of them all

Thu, Apr 25, 2019

When one buys a video game nowadays, it is accepted as a given that the standard of story line will be equivalent to a motion picture with graphics as good as real life. Back in the nineties, this was not the case as games like the timeless Super Mario and Crash Bandicoot were bundles of fun but lacked any depth or story.

Read more ...

Eighth Grade - a social media film for our times

Thu, Apr 18, 2019

OSCAR NOMINATED already, Eighth Grade is the debut feature from YouTube star Bo Burnham, and while it is easy to be apprehensive of a movie from a 27-year-old stand-up comedian, this is a strikingly good debut.

Read more ...

Album review: Fontaines D.C.

Thu, Apr 11, 2019

IMAGINE A song which sounds as though it were written by Shane McGowan, but performed by The Velvet Underground. That song is 'Dublin City Sky', the closing track on Fontaines D.C.'s debut album.

Read more ...

The Sisters Brothers - dark, funny, and nihilistic

Thu, Apr 11, 2019

THE SISTERS Brothers is French director Jacques Audiard’s English-language debut. Audiard first came to attention in 2005 with The Beat That My Heart Skipped, and enjoyed wide acclaim for 2009's magnificent A Prophet.

Read more ...

Dumbo - Tim Burton's bad run of movies continues

Thu, Apr 04, 2019

DUMBO IS the first of three Disney live action remakes out this year, the others being Aladdin and The Lion King, and the company seems to have taken a different approach to each one.

Read more ...

Liam O’Flaherty’s Hollywood sojourn

Thu, Apr 04, 2019

BORN ON The Aran Islands in 1896, Liam O’Flaherty was to become one of the most distinguished and prolific writers of 20th century Ireland. His first book, Thy Neighbour’s Wife, was published in 1923 and was followed by an avalanche of novels, short stories, and poems in English and as Gaeilge, as well as travelogues.

Read more ...

Looking back on a flurry of locally produced plays

Tue, Apr 02, 2019

A FLURRY of locally-produced plays have graced Galway’s stages over the past few weeks, the most of impressive of them being Brú Theatre’s Selvage at the Mick Lally Theatre, written and performed by James Riordan and deftly directed by Lara Campbell.

Read more ...

Album review: White Denim

Thu, Mar 28, 2019

IN SOME corner of a foreign field - Austin, Texas, to be precise - it will forever be the 1970s, but what kind of seventies depends on what White Denim album you are listening to.

Read more ...

Us - Jordan Peele dives further into horror

Thu, Mar 28, 2019

IN 1986, Adelaide wanders away from her parents in a theme park, and into a seemingly abandoned house of mirrors. Inside there, she is confronted by her doppelgänger who spends the rest of her life stalking her in visions.

Read more ...

People of the Tribes: Meet Cayla.

Thu, Mar 28, 2019

Hi, my name is Cayla O’Neill Ruane, I was born in Galway 16 years ago and I have been living in the small village of Oughterard ever since. I have never been what someone would describe as ‘normal’, being an only child growing up, I always had to find ways to entertain myself without needing anyone around. I would read, create my own stories and act them out with my vast collection of dolls or make dances to show my mom when she got home from work. Living in Oughterard was difficult when I was younger, I didn’t have a lot of friends at school and there were very little activities for someone like me to participate in. Instead,I looked forward to the trip into Galway each weekend, as there was always so much to do and see in the city, even though it was through the confines of a Tesco shopping trolley.

Read more ...

Album review: Ye Vagabonds

Thu, Mar 21, 2019

THROUGHOUT THESE last couple of years, Ye Vagabonds have steadily built a following and a fair measure of respect, culminating in their nomination for a 2018 BBC Folk Award on the strength of their self-released debut album.

Read more ...

Under The Silver Lake - obnoxious and crass

Thu, Mar 21, 2019

UNDER THE Silver Lake has been billed as The Big Lewbowski mixed with Blue Velvet. It is directed by David Robert Mitchell, director of It Follows, my favourite film of 2014. It also boasts a quality cast and a really great trailer.

Read more ...

Album review: Stella Donnelly

Thu, Mar 14, 2019

THE SOUND, the look, is deceptive, disarming. The singer is all smiles and kookiness, the songs seemingly frothy, jubilant, catchy, 1980s style indie-pop. It's the sweetness that attracts.

Read more ...

Captain Marvel - the most fun you can have in a cinema

Thu, Mar 14, 2019

CAROL DANVERS - Captain Marvel's true identity - is not very well known to non-comic book readers, but, over the last decade, she has become one of Marvel comic’s best characters.

Read more ...

Trevor Conway and the poetry of fear

Thu, Mar 14, 2019

HAVING PUBLISHED his first collection with Salmon, Trevor Conway has taken the courageous decision to self-publish his second, Breeding Monsters, which, in every way, looks as good as the books currently emerging from any of the main Irish poetry publishers.

Read more ...

Album review: Maria Somerville

Thu, Mar 07, 2019

MARIA SOMERVILLE'S earliest songs were melancholy, atmospheric, meditations, based around the guitar. In the years since, her music has metamorphosed into electronica, but those qualities of mood and emotionally drenched sonics remain.

Read more ...

E-paper

Read this weeks E-paper. Past editions also available from within this weeks digital copy.

 

Page generated in 0.0678 seconds.