High specification in Knockdoe home

Thu, Jul 09, 2020

This is a superbly constructed five bedroom home on a generous 0.6 acre site in Caraun, Knockdoe. It is located just off the N17, 1km from Bawnmore NS, three miles from Claregalway, and 11 miles from Galway city.

Extending to c2,500sq ft, it features hollowcore flooring and high finishes such as solid ash staircase, semi-solid hickory floor at ground floor level, superbly finished solid oak kitchen/large island unit, integrated appliances, and a Brandon Stanley oil fired range. The two main reception rooms have top of the range marble fireplaces, one with a solid fuel stove and one with a gas fire. The attic area of c450sq ft is fully developed with solid ash stairs.

Read more ...

Stand in awe of all Mná

Wed, Jul 08, 2020

LIKE EVERYTHING this year, the Galway Film Fleadh is a bit different. Usually the opening night is in a packed out Town Hall Theatre, but in 2020 we are all tuning in from home.

Read more ...

Album review: Dream Wife

Thu, Jul 02, 2020

GIVEN THE brilliance of the debut, and their prowess as a live band - witness that unforgettable gig in the Róisín Dubh in October 2018 - expectations were high for Dream Wife's second album.

Read more ...

Da 5 Bloods - a wake up call and great entertainment

Thu, Jun 18, 2020

WELL THIS is a treat. A new Spike Lee movie on Netflix. The titular five bloods are a group of Black GIs who return to Vietnam to take back the remains of their commanding officer, Stormin' Norman, and the gold they buried with him years ago.

Read more ...

The Little Book of Galway; a perfect little guide to the county

Thu, Jun 11, 2020

As someone who is absolutely fascinated by the subject of history, it is rather inexplicable that in my five and half years of living in Galway that the only real historical fact I knew about the county was Mayor James Lynch Fitzstephen hanged his own son Walter for murder and thus came the term lynching. So when the opportunity to read The Little Book of Galway presented itself, I finally had a chance to bring my Galway history knowledge up to scratch and it did not disappoint.

Read more ...

Album review: Badly Drawn Boy

Thu, May 21, 2020

THE ABILITY of the arts to speak to the moment we find ourselves in, regardless of the original circumstances of its creation, has been keenly felt during the Covid-19 pandemic.

Read more ...

Album review: PRIMO!

Thu, Apr 30, 2020

THERE IS something in the sound and style of contemporary antipodean indie-punk which feels as though it were music recorded sometime in '78 or '79, and left languishing in a vault until now.

Read more ...

Album review: Ezra Furman

Thu, Apr 23, 2020

ART HAS the ability to resonate with, and speak meaningfully to, situations it was never conceived to address, and there are points on Ezra Furman's new album that feel as though is speaking about the Covid-19 pandemic.

Read more ...

Album review: Laura Marling

Thu, Apr 16, 2020

ENERVATION AND melancholy have dominated many albums released so far in 2020 - an understandable reaction to last year with Brexit, the continued presence of Trump, and climate change, as well as an uncomfortable presaging of the Covid-19 lockdown.

Read more ...

Best foreign language shows to help you learn a new tongue

Wed, Apr 15, 2020

There is no point in beating around the bush; life under lockdown is pretty boring. We have gone from having a world of options from which to choose such as playing sport; shopping for leisure; or simply just calling round to our friends' houses and hanging out, to essentially, sitting in our homes all day and perhaps going for a walk in a secluded area.

Read more ...

Album review: Låpsley

Thu, Mar 19, 2020

THE PERSONAL is political is a phrase/slogan/rallying call which has been around since the late 1960s, but is one that feels ever more pertinent and apt.

Read more ...

As You Were – as you will be

Thu, Mar 19, 2020

ANY CLAIM, like that on the back cover of the proof copy of As You Were, Elaine Feeney’s debut novel, to be published on April 16 by Harvill Secker, that this is “The Irish fiction debut of 2020” needs to be taken with a pinch of salt.

Read more ...

Dark Waters; entertaining, rage inducing drama

Mon, Mar 09, 2020

As a fan of previous little guy versus behemoth law films such as Erin Brockovich or anger filling plots like In the Name of the Father, I just had to go and see Dark Waters in the cinema and I was not disappointed. Dark Waters tell us the story behind Cincinnati corporate lawyer Rob Bilott's (Mark Ruffalo) 20 year crusade against chemical company DuPont's unregulated misuse of a chemical compound known as 'C8' which causes illness, cancer, and death in creatures which consume it.

Read more ...

Album review: Autre Monde

Thu, Mar 05, 2020

PADDY HANNA has never been afraid to embrace the eccentric and off-kilter side of his creativity on his solo albums, and in Autre Monde songwriter Padraig Cooney, he has met a kindred spirit.

Read more ...

Portrait Of A Lady On Fire - an equal love story

Thu, Mar 05, 2020

THE LAST two months has seen an unprecedented run of unique and interesting films, from war movie 1917, to a new twist on the Agatha Christie 'whodunnit' in Knives Out, biting social commentary in Parasite, surreal Lovecraftian horror in The Lighthouse, and maybe my favourite of all - a tense thriller from, of all people, Adam Sandler in Uncut Gems.

Read more ...

Album review: The Hanging Stars

Thu, Feb 27, 2020

THERE HAS been an enervated, lethargic, feel to many of the albums released so far in 2020 - at least to these ears - resulting in some worthy works, which ultimately fail to fully engage.

Read more ...

The Lighthouse - brilliant, difficult, funny, and unnerving

Thu, Feb 27, 2020

ROBERT PATTINSON is Ephraim Winslow, a new lighthouse keeper starting his first day of work on the coast of New England in the late 1880s. He is partnered with Thomas, played by Willem Defoe, a veteran wickie, as he calls himself.

Read more ...

Hollow Knight- an indie game well worth the price

Wed, Feb 19, 2020

Hollow knight was developed and published by Team Cherry in 2017 and is available on X-Box One, PS4, Nintendo Switch and PC. This game genuinely surprised me with its scale and quality especially because of its low price. Going as low as fifteen euro on steam, the game proves that it is well worth it. So far I've clocked in about fifty hours exploring the expansive world and I don't even think I'm done yet.

Read more ...

Birds of Prey: enjoyable chaos and mayhem

Mon, Feb 17, 2020

OK to start off, I am not a massive fan of DC movies or Marvel movies, or any kind of superhero movie, so it is safe to say I wasn't holding out for much when I rocked up to Omniplex Salthill to view Birds of Prey, Birds of Prey: The Fantabulous Emancipation of One Harley Quinn, or Harley Quinn: Birds of Prey or whatever title DC has decided to place upon their newest release. However, I have to say it wasn't that bad and I rather enjoyed a huge chunks of the movie.

Read more ...

Album review: Grrrl Gang

Thu, Feb 13, 2020

WHILE INDIE fans on this side of the world are open to, and to a certain extent familiar with, indie-rock from Japan and Korea, Indonesia is entirely unknown territory.

Read more ...

E-paper

Read this weeks E-paper. Past editions also available from within this weeks digital copy.

 

Page generated in 0.0690 seconds.