Wreck It Ralph 2 - school holiday fodder

Thu, Dec 13, 2018

IN WRECK it Ralph 2, we catch up with Ralph and Vanellope, our heroes from the first movie, right where we left them, enjoying life as sentient 1980s video arcade game characters.

Read more ...

Man gives birth to alarm clock

Thu, Dec 13, 2018

GALWAY WRITER Brian Coughlan is a clever comedic writer in the Alan McMonagle/Karl MacDermott mode. His characters tend to be no good types, the sort who, in what the career guidance teachers of my youth called the real world, end up in middle management, or as unsuccessful Fianna Fáil county council candidates. Such characters populate Coughlan's short story collection, Wattle & Daub.

Read more ...

Advertisement

A lot wrong, and a lot right with Creed II

Thu, Dec 06, 2018

AFTER HIS defeat in Rocky 4, Ivan Drago was ostracised by Russia and abandoned by his allies, including his wife. He comes out from the wilderness with his son, Viktor, a young boxer who is so comically large he looks like he has been CGI’d.

Read more ...

Far Cry 4: lots and lots of fun

Tue, Dec 04, 2018

When it comes to games, I like to know that I will get my money's worth in terms of gameplay time before purchasing. There is nothing worse than when you part with your hard earned cash and the game is completed within four hours of hitting the start button. Far Cry 4 provides gamers with plenty of challenges and enjoyment – 52 hours worth in my case.

Read more ...

Assassin's Creed Origins - one man's fight in a changing world

Mon, Dec 03, 2018

YOU MAY have already set foot on the soil of ancient Greece, and with your sword and sandals, fight wars overt and covert, and on more than a few fronts. For those still catching up, a journey to the heart of Ptolemaic Egypt awaits.

Read more ...

The unhinged poetry of Ken Bruen

Thu, Nov 29, 2018

KEN BRUEN'S writing is like Charles Bukowski’s in that people tend to either love it, or be allergic to it. No one pretends to like Bruen’s writing in the way they do, say, the poetry of Ocean Vuong or Doireann Ní Gríofa because, to paraphrase WH Auden, they think it is the correct opinion to have for the time of year.

Read more ...

Wildlife - domestic unbliss in Montana

Thu, Nov 29, 2018

SET IN 1960s Montana, married couple Jerry and Janette and their son Joe have recently relocated. Though not said, it is implied they left their last home when Jerry lost his job, and it is not the first time this has happened.

Read more ...

Album review: boygenius

Thu, Nov 22, 2018

BOYGENIUS ARE made up of three of the most exciting indie-rock singer-songwriters to have emerged in the last five years - Julien Baker, Phoebe Bridgers, and Lucy Dacus.

Read more ...

Fantastic Beasts: The Grimes of Grindelwald

Thu, Nov 22, 2018

I WAS 11 when the first Harry Potter book came out, the same age Harry is in the story. I read those books - and only those books - repeatedly for a good 10 years (If I’m being honest 20 years).

Read more ...

A timely reminder of Irish life during the recession

Thu, Nov 22, 2018

AS WELL as having a successful career in journalism, Declan Varley is the author of four works of fiction - Kittyland (1992), which described his life as a student in the then RTC, Sure It Could Happen (1993), The Elephant’s Graveyard (1994), and Nightmusic (2001).

Read more ...

Widows - a heist move, but not as you know it

Thu, Nov 15, 2018

WIDOWS, THE latest film from British director Steve McQueen, is the last thing I expected from him. In fact when I heard his next project was based on a 1980s TV show, I was slightly concerned.

Read more ...

'We got a fantastic response from cartoonists internationally'

Thu, Nov 08, 2018

Galway’s second Cartoon Festival kicks off this weekend on Saturday, and last year’s little acorn has already had an impressive growth spurt. Last year the festival was confined to two venues, whereas this year’s event features work by more than 70 cartoonists from all around the world which will be on show in a minimum of eight locations across the city.

Read more ...

Holy Mary 'a pure joy and a delightful night out'

Thu, Nov 08, 2018

Playgoers are in for a treat next week when Eoin Colfer’s achingly funny comedy, Holy Mary, comes to the Town Hall on Tuesday, November 13, at 8pm.

Read more ...

Recovery – live staging of a concept album at Mick Lally Theatre

Thu, Nov 08, 2018

On Tuesday November 13, at 8pm, at the Mick Lally Theatre, One Two One Two present their award-winning fusion of pop music and theatre, Recovery, starring Peter Coonan from Love/Hate.

Read more ...

A concert to commemorate the end of WWI

Thu, Nov 08, 2018

AS THE centenary of the end of WWI draws close, Galway will mark the event with a performance of Karl Jenkins' The Armed Man and Haydn's Mass in a Time of War.

Read more ...

Call Of Duty: Modern Warfare Remastered – a masterpiece

Mon, Nov 05, 2018

Having never played the original Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare, I have to say I was quite excited to get my hands on the game which some say turned the Call Of Duty franchise into the behemoth that it is today, leaving its rivals lagging far behind, and transformed gaming, from people sitting in the homes playing alone, to the multiplayer universe that we inhabit in 2018.

Read more ...

Album review: Stereolab

Thu, Nov 01, 2018

HOUSED IN one of the most memorable sleeves of the 1990s - an image drawn from a 1970s Swiss underground magazine - Stereolab's 1992 debut was a homage to their roots, and a signpost to their future.

Read more ...

MADDEN NFL 18: Doing whatever it takes

Thu, Nov 01, 2018

As with many sports games, their popularity will be everlasting as millions of sports fans gorge themselves on being able to play like their heroes. The problem with sports games is that there is very little opportunity to ever improve the product. Aside from controls and graphics, the game must mirror what real life is like, so if there is no change in the sport, then it is likely there is going to be no change in the game.

Read more ...

Album review: Value Void

Thu, Oct 25, 2018

THERE HAVE been many terms coined over the ages to describe falling in, and being in, love, so it is some achievement for London based trio Value Void to have come up with a new one.

Read more ...

First Man - the space race without the American jingoism

Thu, Oct 25, 2018

FIRST MAN is an adaptation of the book by the same name by James Hansen. A biography of Neil Armstrong, the first man to walk on the moon, it tells the story of his personal life leading up to the Apollo 11 mission.

Read more ...

E-paper

Read this weeks E-paper. Past editions also available from within this weeks digital copy.

 

Page generated in 0.0838 seconds.