NUIG suffer narrow loss in Sigerson final

NUIG lost out by a single point, 2-09 to 1-13, to UCD in last weekend's Sigerson Cup final in Santry.

Tipperary forward Liam Casey scored the last two points of the game for John Divilly's UCD who were crowned Sigerson Cup champions for the second time in three years.

Second-half goals from Moycullen's Sean Kelly and Adam Gallagher left underdogs NUI Galway leading by 2-8 to 1-9 heading into the final 10 minutes. However UCD were the more composed side in the final few minutes.

Monaghan's Conor McCarthy, who hit 1-6 in total, and Dublin super star Con O’Callaghan kicked a score apiece in that crucial period, before Casey fired over an equaliser and then fisted the winner when the contest seemed destined for extra-time.

NUIG, under the guidance of All-Ireland winning club captain with Salthill/Knocknacarra Maurice Sheridan, were appearing in their first Sigerson final in 15 years, and were very disappointed not to have brought the famed trophy home.

Galway senior captain Damien Comer, who will be in action this weekend in Tralee against Kerry, scored 0-3 from play in the first half, despite being double marked on occasion, and the Annaghdown man also won a few frees that were converted.

The sides were locked at 1-5 to 0-8 at the interval, and with Peter Cooke dominating at midfield for NUIG, they had hoped to push on and win the title.

The Galway players who featured were: goalkeeper Tadgh O' Malley (Leitir Mór ), full back Seán Mulkerrin (Oileán Árainn ), Killanin's Ruairí Greene at centre-back, Peter Cooke and Céin D’Arcy (Caherlistrane ) at midfield, Enda Tierney from Oughterard, who hit 0-3 (0-1f ), and Galway seniors Comer and Seán Kelly from Moycullen. Corofin's Kieran Molloy, former minor star Ryan Forde from Annaghdown, and Mountbellew Moylough's Eoin Finnerty were subs.


Page generated in 0.2019 seconds.