New county speed limits adopted

Cuddy welcomes 80km/h limit on airport road

County councillors have adopted a new speed limits, set down by the Road Traffic Special Speed Limit County Galway Bye-Laws 2014, to be introduced across the county from May 8 next.

The new bye-laws were passed and adopted at this month’s Galway County Council meeting. While the majority of the changes involve reducing the speed limits, the road between Galway Airport and Ballintemple was increased from 60km/h to 80km/h, a change that was welcomed by Independent councillor for the Oranmore electoral area, Jim Cuddy.

Speaking following Monday’s meeting, Cllr Cuddy said the increase is a “more reasonable speed limit for this wide stretch of road” and it will be “welcome news for the people who use this road on a regular basis”. “I have been working on this matter for a number of years and I am delighted that it has finally been brought to a successful conclusion,” said Cllr Cuddy, who has requested the director of service to immediately start work on changing the speed limits on a number of country roads that he has identified as unsafe.

Raising the issue at this week’s meeting, Cllr Cuddy said: “There are a number of country roads within the Oranmore Electoral Area, which are unsafe for vehicular traffic and pedestrians with the speed limit at 80km/h and I hope to have a more suitable speed limit implemented on these roads over the coming months.”

Also raising the issue of excessive speed limits on country side roads was Cllr Cllr Tomás Ó Curraoin (Ind ) who said it was “ridiculous” to have “boreens” where two cars cannot pass each other designated at 80km/h as it is a “killer trap”.

Cllr Michael Connolly (FF ) and Cllr Tim Broderick (Ind ) expressed concerns about Ballygar, calling for advanced warning signs to notify motorists. Acting director of services, Liam Gavin confirmed that there will be advance warning signs put in place on either side of Ballygar.

Following consultations with electoral area committees regarding the proposed changes to the existing special speed limit bye-laws revisions were agreed at the council meeting on November 23, 2013. The new bye-laws will come into operation on May 8, 2014.

Roads in respect of which a special speed limit of 50km/h is prescribed applies to roads in 105 areas. They include: Abbeyknockmoy, roads between Eanach Mheáin and Leitir Móir, Athenry, Ballinamore Bridge, Ballinasloe, Ballinderreen, Ballynakill, roads between Bearna and An Spidéal, Béal an Daingin, Belclare, Caherlistrane, Caltra, Carna, An Cheathrú Rua, Clifden, Dunmore, Gort, Headford, Kilconnell, Kinvara, Monivea, Maigh Cuilinn, Oranmore, Oughterard, Portumna, Tuam, and Woodford.

Roads in 40 areas are now subject to 60km/h. The areas where this change applies include: Ardrahan, Ballinasloe, between Bearna and An Spidéal, Baile Chláir, Craughwell, Kilcolgan, Kinvara, Loughrea, Moylough, a number of roads between An Spidéal and Casla, Tuam, and Labane. A number of roads in town of Ballinasloe, Loughrea, on the N63 between Leacht Seoirse and Ballygar, Milltown, Kinvara, and Portumna are subject to a special speed limit of 80km/h. A number of sections along the Ballinasloe to Galway Road R446 (old N6 ) and the Loughrea Bypass N65 and N66 are now subject to a special speed limit of 100km/h.


Page generated in 0.2818 seconds.