Galway hosts 2012 Irish rally awards

The crowning of this year’s Irish tarmac rally champions will take in Galway on Saturday.

Hosted this year by Galway Motor Club, in association with The Irish Tarmac Rally Championship committee, the gala awards will be held at the The Clayton Hotel in Ballybrit.

The awards dinner signals the end of the 2012 championship which has been won by

24-years-old Darren Gass from Market Hill in Co Armagh and Enda Sherry from Co Monaghan.

The pair laid down a marker for the year when winning the Galway International Rally and scoring maximum points in the opening championship round for 2012. Further victories on the Circut of Ireland Rally and The Ulster Rally, along with a second place on The Rally of the Lakes in Killarney, confirmed the new champions.

Garry Jennings claimed second place overall and third went to Daragh O’Riordan. Among the other awards to be presented on the night are group N winner Sam Moffett, class four winner Garry Jennings, and class six winner Derek McGarrity.

Some local Galway interest on the night includes the Historic Championship winning driver Ray Cunningham and co-driver Wendy Blackledge, and also James Power with his co-driver Declan Kelly winning class C3. The Overall Modified Challenge winners are Rob Alderman and Paula Alderman.

Well known local Galway band Who Knows will provide the musical entertainment.

The Gala awards night and dinner begins at 8pm and is an all ticket affair which must be booked in advance. Contact Don Wilmont on (0044 ) 7768687526 or email [email protected]; Joan Vaughan on (086 ) 8902057 or email [email protected]


Page generated in 0.2932 seconds.