Galway rowers on the podium in Limerick

Galway Rowing Club squads were among the medallists at the recent Limerick Regatta, bagging some six wins at the weekend.

Building on their experience in Dublin, the Galway contingent delivered despite the tricky weather conditions which deteriorated throughout the day.

Wins were recorded in six events including the women's J16 4X+, women's J15 4X+, women's J16 8+, men's J16 4X+, men's masters 8+ and men's master 1X.

The women's J16 4X+ had 16 crews in their event, winning their heat against Athlone, St Michael's and Neptune, and then going on to win their final by almost two lengths from second place.

The men's masters coxed eights overcame a strong Shannon crew to win by a length and half, while the men's J16 4X+ won final. Having faced 19 crews in their event, the conditions were tricky, but again they overcame the elements to claim the gold later in the day.

Ray Carroll, competing in the men's master 1X, proved his strength, winning his event from Clarke from Neptune RC before the women's J16 8+, combining members of the J15 and J16 squads, raced against competitive crews from Cork and St Michael's. With the strong headwind the Galway girls rowed a smart race to win.

In the last final, Galway had two crews among the 31 entrants in the women's J15 4X+, with the event divided into straight finals.

Despite the wind was blowing direct up the course making it difficult for the young rowers, the Galway girls who went onto win both events.

Crews can look forward to the home event, the Galway Regatta, which takes place on June 4 at NUIG grounds in Dangan.

Women's J16 8+: Orla Stapleton, Ailbhe McCallion, Mella Coffey, Bronagh O'Flaherty, Cadhla Carew, Kate Clancy, Aoibhe Monaghan, Aoibhe Ellwood, Leigh Small.

Women's J16 4X+: Ailbhe McCallion, Aoibhe Monaghan, Cadhla Carew , Kate Clancy Aoibhe Elwood.

Men's J164X+. Standing: Sean Clarke, Tom Burke, Oisin NcGlynn, Eoin Whelan (cox ) Roan Downes, Lyndon Lyndon.

Men's Masters 8+: JJ Conneely, Pat Scully, Jimmy Elwood, Martin Breen, Mike Heskin, Christy Griffin, Niall Elwood, Rory O’Brien.

Women's J15 4X+: Sarah Tawfick, Jessie Kenneally, Laura Carolan, Connie Bell, Aoife McMorrow.


Page generated in 0.2175 seconds.