O'Reilly takes opening honours in 5k series

Caltra 5k winner Cathal O'Reilly.

Caltra 5k winner Cathal O'Reilly.

A huge field of some 700 runners completed the opening race of the 2019 Galway 5km Series in Caltra.

On this traditionally fast course, Cathal O'Reilly of Loughrea AC was first man home in a solid time of 16.27, ahead of series regular Kevin Moore who was second in 16.34.

Conor Dolan was third in 16.42, while the first woman home was Regina Casey of GCH in a time of 17.58.

Niamh Hennelly, also GCH, was second in 19.38, and Edel Kelly of Athnery AC was third in 20.12.

Loughrea will host next Tuesday evening's event.

Irish Milers Club

Some of Galway City Harriers Club's best middle-distance runners competed at the Irish Milers Club meet in Greystones, and Keith Fallon made his comeback to track racing, winning his 800m heat in 1.56.

Jack Maher of GCH ran a personal best clocking 4.02 over 1500m, Jack Miskella of Craughwell and GCH’s James Frizzell both clocked 4.06, while Galway's Neill Keane clocked 4.09 and Barry Murphy 4.12, both ran new bests. GCH athlete Maebh Brannigan ran an encouraging season opener of 2.19 over 800m

In the 3000m, new GCH signing Laura Shaughnessy ran 9.44, and NUI Galway athletes Aoife O'Brien and Orna Murray impressed with 10.23 and 10.27 respectively. GCH distance athletes Aaron Brennan completed the event in 8.52, while John Moroney posted a 9.06 time, and a solid time over the men’s 3k events.

Juvenile Championships

Day One of the 2019 Galway Track and Field Juvenile Championships was on Sunday in Dangan, with the U9 to U12 age groups in action.

At U12 level, there were some great individual performances, with double golds for Keevagh Barry and Ben Moran. The opening event, the 60m sprint hurdles, saw wins for Ben Moran of GCH and Lauren Kilduff of Craughwell AC. The 60m sprints were won by Keevagh Barry of Craughwell AC and Jeremiah Oifoh of Tuam AC.

Victorious in the long jump were Keevagh Barry of Craughwell AC and Ben Moran of GCH, both securing their second golds of the day. The turbo javelin golds went to Kiera Mernagh of Craughwell AC and Conor Haverty of Tuam AC. Ciaran O'Donnell of Tuam AC and Emma O'Donovan of Craughwell AC claimed gold in the U12 high jump, while in the shot putt, Ruby Casey of East Galway and Padraic Kelly of Caltra and District AC won gold.

In the distance events, Aisling Geaney of South Galway and Odhran O Hare of Tuam AC were the winners over 600m, while Craughwell U12 girls and GCH U12 boys won the relay golds.

The U9, 10 and 11 competitions were team based with the top combined scores or times of two athletes per club in each event winning out

At U9 level, Daisy Griffin and Carla Fahy won the long jump for Loughrea AC, while Ruairi MacNena and Jack O'Dwyer of Craughwell won the boys'event.

The Craughwell pairing of Lilly May Grealish and Leah Mahon, and Tuam's Shiloh Mihes and Shane Lalor, won gold in their respective turbo javelinevent, while on the track, the 60m event was won by the pair of Sally Fahey and Martha Macadam of South Galway AC, and Dean Garvey and Rhys Costello of Tuam AC.

The 300m distance event team winners were Sally Fahey and Martha Macadam of South Galway AC, with their second gold of the day, along with a great team win for Ryan Scully and Ruairi Connolly of Clare River Harriers in the boys’ 300m event. South Galway AC took the girls' relay title, while Tuam AC claimed U9 boys' gold.

In the U10 team competition, Sarah Donald and Ella Sisson of GCH, and Oisin O'Donovan and Luke Connaughton of Craughwell, won gold, while the 60m sprint events were won by Sarah Donald and Ella Sisson, making it a double gold for the GCH duo, and Craughwell's Callum McMahon and Alan Hallinan.

Turbo javelin winners were Sophie Kelly and Abbie Donoghue of Caltra and District AC, and Dara Breathnach, with a massive 17.20 metres, and clubmate Matthew Murphy of GCH.

The 500m distance race event team winners were Eanna McGrath and Cian McGinn of Tuam AC, and Remy Aylmer and Aisling Lavan of Craughwell AC. On the Relays, Tuam AC and Galway City Harriers won gold in boys and girls' events respectively.

At U11 level Rachel Warde and Mia Hollingworth of Craughwell AC won long jump gold, with the Craughwell pair of Sam Casey and Kai Watters winning the boys' event. Annalyse Nally and Taillte O Callaghan of Tuam AC emerged victorious in the turbo javelin, with Ethan Stace and Tom Malone, also of Craughwell, taking the boys' event. The 60m girls’ event was won by the Craughwell AC pair of Lauren Morgan and Rachel Warde, with Tom Henry and Ryan Hession of Tuam AC taking gold in the boys' race.

In the final action of the day, the long distance 600m event, the team winners were the Loughrea pair of Hazel Fahy and Hannah McGrath, and Jack Cahill and Leo Molloy of Craughwell AC. In the relays, Tuam AC won gold in both races.

Day two of the championships for U13-19 athletes takes place on Sunday in Dangan,

Limerick Marathon

GCH athletes had considerable success in Sunday's Limerick Marathon. Elaine Walsh of GCH was the first woman home in a time of 2.59, while clubmate Neasa De Burca ran a great race and just missed the three-hour mark with a superb 3.00.24. Martin Kearney of Galway City Harriers broke the three-hour barrier at 64 years of age, clocking 2 hours 58 minutes - a phenomenal achievement for this talented and hardworking athlete. In the half marathon, Culan O'Meara and Sinead Foran were first home for the city club in 1.23 and 1.27 respectively.


Page generated in 0.1026 seconds.