Galway athletes impress on the track

A record entry of almost 1,000 athletes from all Galway clubs competed at both juvenile and adult level at the 2018 Galway Indoor Championships in the Athlone IT Arena last weekend.

At senior level Stephen Casserly of Castlegar AC won an enthralling men’s 3000m in 9.50, kicking away on the last lap from Brian O'Connor of GCH and Patrick Noonan of Craughwell AC, who finished second and third respectively.

Niamh Hennelly of GCH produced a superb run to clock an excellent 10.52 for a clear victory in the women's race, with Aine O'Farrell of Athenry in second and Tara Whyte of GCH third home. Veronica Burke of Ballinasloe and District took the senior walk with ease.

Ben Garrard of Craughwell ran 2.00 to claim the men’s 800m title after a super race with Gavin Cooney, also Craughwell. Clubmate Sinead Gaffney won the women's 800m gold.

Conor Duggan of Craughwell AC made a welcome return to action, winning the senior 60m, while Aoife Sheehy( GCH ) and Brendan Lynch(Loughrea ) won the sprint hurdles. Sinead Treacy won double gold in the 60m and 200m, which was the race of the day. Just one-thousandth of a second separated Treacy from Nicole King of GCH. Majella Loftus won gold in the masters' 60 and 200m events, while Robert Meagher of GCH took the men’s 200m title.

At juvenile level, GCH had impressive wins on the track, including a triple victory for Ava McKeon. McKeon won three individual golds on Sunday, the U14 60m sprint, the 60m hurdles, and the 800m in an amazing display. Seren O'Toole won double gold in both the U16/17 60m sprint and 200 metres, while Robert McDonnell won the U16/17 double over 60m and 200m also. Conor Hoade took gold in the U15 hurdles, while Luke Dahler won the U15 60m. Emma Moore ran a super 2.19 in the U15 800m to take gold, while Eimear Rowe won the U16/17 event.

Craughwell AC winners on the track included Lauren Morgan in the U10 60m, Alan Hallinan in the U9 200m, while siblings Keelan Moorehead won the U11 600m and Kyle Moorehead won the U16/17 800m. Evan Moran won the U13 hurdles; Saoirse Moore won the U15 event, and Niamh Duffy won the U13 Girls 60m.

In the field Craughwell winners included Emma O'Donovan in the U11 long jump, Lauren Morgan took a second gold in the U10 long jump, Ella Farrelly also won two titles, the U12 long and high jumps. Ben Moran took the U11 longjump, Darragh Kelly the U12 high jump, and in the throws, Shannon Quinn won gold in the U12 shot putt.

Loughrea AC winners were Darragh Fahy with double gold in the U12 60m and long jump, while Hazel Fahy ran a fast time in the U10 400m. Shane Earls claimed the U10 400m, while there was gold for Samuel Ukaga in the U16/17 hurdles.

Athenry AC juveniles were also multiple title winners. Cian McNelis won two golds in the U13 60m and 600m with a great front running display, while Conor Curran won the shot at U12 level and Aoibhe Deeley won the U16/17 hurdles.

Ballinasloe and District AC gold medallists were Sinead Greene in the U11 60m, and Caoimhe Kilkenny in the U13 600m, while East Galway AC had a gold medal winner in Enda Keane in the U12 600m, and Saoirse Coleman in the U13 hurdles.

South Galway AC had winners via David Mannion who took double gold in the U14 hurdles and 60m sprint, while brother Stephen won the 800m distance event. Sinead Mongan was the U12 60m hurdles champion, Aisling Geaney won the U11 600m, Aisling Finn won the U15 60m, Michael Leahy won the U15 800m, while in the field, Katlyn Kelly won the U9 long jump to complete a great event for the club.

Tuam AC, with a huge contingent of athletes, enjoyed a superb all-round championship, claiming a huge haul of medals across the board. Eimear Fallon won double gold in in the U9 60m and 200m, as did Tom Henry in the U10 60m and U10 long jump. The U12 60m hurdles was won by Cian Rafferty, Odhran Kelly was the winner in the U9 60m, JJ Oifoh looked impressive winning the U11 60m, while Aine McGuire took gold the U12 60m, and Danielle Moynihan won the U12 600m. In the field, Tuam had a win from Thomas Riordan in the U9 long jump.

In the field events, Brendan Staunton of GCH and Katie O'Donoghue of Craughwell AC claimed the senior shot putt titles. At juvenile level, Darragh Kearney of Craughwell (U13 ), Liam Shaw of Athenry (U14 ), and Darragh Jennings of GCH (U15 ) were victors in the boys'e events, while Niamh Duffy, Craughwell (U13 ), Caitlin Griffin, Loughrea (U14 ), Ella Raffert,Tuam AC (U15 ), and at U16/17 Chloe Casey, Craughwell were victorious.

Brendan Lynch took the triple jump men’s crown, with Laura Cunningham of Craughwell landing the women's title. Shane O'Rourke of Tuam AC took the senior men’s high jump, leaping 1.90m, while Katie O'Donoghue of Craughwell won the women's event. At juvenile level Ellie Cronin (Craughwell ) and Jack Mannion (Tuam ) took the U16/17 titles, Grace Bermingham of South Galway and Cormac McFadden of Craughwell won the U13 events, Jade Moorehead of Craughwell and Evan Hallinan of Craughwell won the U14 titles, and clubmates Lukas Schukat and Saoirse Moore of Craughwell were victorious at U15 level.

There were also series of exciting relays on the programme, which saw multiple wins for Tuam AC, Craughwell, and GCH, as well South Galway AC.

Tuam AC 8k

The 16th edition of the Tuam AC 8k road race will take place Sunday January 21 at 2.30 pm, with entry available online now on Athletics Irelands Primo system, and on the day.


Page generated in 0.1296 seconds.