Byrne a clear winner

GCH’s Owen Byrne was the winner of Colemanstown United fundraising 10k on Easter Saturday.

Held in perfect Byrne clocked a time of 34.29, almost a minute clear of Ollie Mullins of Craughwell AC and Ray Somers (Athenry ), second and third respectively in 35.21 and 35.44.

The women’s section was considerably closer with two super times recorded by eventual winner, Jane Ann Meehan who ran 37.11, and by Regina Casey of GCH, who ran 37.33 for second.

Easter Monday saw Loughrea AC host a successful 5k run where local athlete Stuart Moloney, now with Mooreabbey Milers, put on a masterclass of running, winning in a great time of 15.58. ith Craughwell AC’s Jason Broderick was second in 16.36, and David Meehan of Athenry third in 17.30. Claire Beatty, also a Loughrea native but now with Cardiff club Les Croupiers took the ladies’ win in 19.13.

Galway Athletics County Board held its 2014 Galway AAI Athletics Awards on Saturday in Tuam.

The category winners are: Female 12-15: Lydia Doyle (GCH ); Male 12-15: Daniel Callanan-Forde (Craughwell AC ); Female 16-19: Alanna Lally (GCH ); Male 16-19: Conor Duggan (Craughwell AC ); Female Senior: Nicola Duncan (GCH ); Male Senior: Sean Breathnach (GCH ); Female Master: Judith Roche (Loughrea AC ); Male Master: Martin McEvilly (GCH ); Outstanding Contribution: David Evans (Tuam AC ); Hall of Fame: Roger Rushe and Mickey Kelly (Tuam AC ); Team: Junior Women’s team (GCH ), Emma O’Hara, Alanna Lally, Laura Ann Costello, Elizabeth Maher, Maebh Brannigan, Roisin Dobey, and Kate Greaney.


Page generated in 0.1728 seconds.