Galway athletes strike gold again

Craughwell’s Jamie Fallon, who runs for Ireland in the u20 Celtic Cross Country international.

Craughwell’s Jamie Fallon, who runs for Ireland in the u20 Celtic Cross Country international.

The 2015 indoor track and field season kicked off on Sunday in the Athlone IT arena with success for several Galway athletes.

Alanna Lally of GCH ran the fastest 800m of the day in the women’s event with a time of 2.15, while Caitriona Farrell of Craughwell AC produced a 5.08 metre long jump to take victory in the individual event.

Craughwell AC’s men had a number of athletes on show, with Conor Duggan sprinting a fine 7.17 60m, Aidan Conneely not far off him with 7.29, and Damien O Boyle clocking 2.01 for 800m

Craughwell's ladies team are currently joint top, level with Leevale AC on 46.5 points. Other contributors to the score were Sinead Treacy with third place in the 60m in 7.89, while Sarah Finnegan was fourth in the 60m hurdles, clocking 10.33. Tara McNally threw a fine 6.89 metre shot to take fourth spot, and Rachel Finnegan was eighth in the 800m in 2.40.

GCH men’s team performed admirably despite some late withdrawals, with Brendan Staunton taking sixth in the shot putt, throwing 9.89m, and Henry Griffin doubling up at 60m and long jump, and Conor O'Rourke with a 2.06 run over 800m comprising the scorers.

Irish cap for Jamie Fallon

Jamie Fallon of Craughwell AC wins an Irish cap this weekend when he will compete on the u-20 Irish team that takes part in the Celtic International Cross Country this Sunday. The annual fixture, which is being hosted by Ireland this year, will feature teams from Scotland, Wales, Ulster and Athletics Ireland.

The Galway Indoor Track and Field Championships continue on Sunday in Athlone, while Tuam Athletic Club hosts its annual 8km road race on Sunday at 2.30pm. This race acts as the main club fundraiser for the year and supports juvenile and senior athletics in the town and environs.

A field of some 500 is expected and entry is now open on Run Ireland for this renowned race, won last year by Paddy Hamilton of North Belfast Harriers. Top local athletes Matt Bidwell and Jane Ann Meehan will be aiming for victories.


Page generated in 0.2191 seconds.