McManamon wins in Castlebar as Kean takes Mulranny title


Last weekend’s gents’ competition was won by Noel Healy with a score of 34pts. His play on the back nine saw him pip Michael Neary to the win, with Dick Heraty finishing in third place. The ladies’ competition was not as closely fought as the gents with Helen Byrne taking the win with a score of 42pts, eight points ahead of Mary Conlon who finished second and Geraldine Kilgallon in third place.


Denis Conroy’s score of 40pts was enough to win last weekend’s gents’ competition which was sponsored by John Ruane, Valero Fuels Ireland. Second place went to Martin Summerville, with Declan Flaherty coming home in third place and the gross prize going to Tom Tracey. The category section was won by John C Murphy, with Michael McManamon winning the front nine section and Frank Burke the back nine section.

The ladies’ competition win was taken by Marian Scully who scored 40pts, she finished two points in front of the second placed Eileen Conlisk, with Breda Keane in third. Catherine O’Toole came home in fourth place, with Christina Moran winning the front nine section and Mary Colleran the back nine section.


Last weekend’s Cashel Engineering sponsored competition was won by Alex Eaton with a score of 40pts, he finished one point in front of Barry Freeman in second place, with John Doyle coming home in third. The ladies’ competition was won by Kay Keane who scored 36pts, Phil Glynn finished in second place one point behind.


Last weekend’s competition was the Mick Byrne Classic and the win was taken home by Padraig McManamon with a score of 41pts. Peter Horkan finished in second place one point behind with Michael Heneghan finishing in third place. The rest of the top 10 finishers in order were, Kieran Hennessy, Noel O’Malley, Martin Walsh, Shane Rice, Brian Healy, Gerry Needham and Michael Sheridan. The junior competition was won by Adrian Rocke, with Ryan Timlin finishing in second place. The best senior was Brian Reynolds with Brian McDonald taking the best ‘leftie’ prize.


A great 66 by Michael Joyce was enough to win last weekend’s Eddie Egan Jewellers sponsored Golfer of the Year competition. Paul Gavin finished in second place with John McTaggart coming home in third place.

The overall Golfer of the Year title was clinched at the weekend by Richard Kean who held off the challenge of Martin O’Carroll and Tom Duffy who were chasing him for the title.

The Mulranny Park Hotel sponsored Winter League will commence in two weeks so it is time to get your team organised. The league is open to both men and women and will be competed for by teams of four. The first round is scheduled for Sunday October 19 and teams can play from Thursday to Sunday each week.


Page generated in 0.2054 seconds.