Minor hurlers well beaten by impressive Limerick outfit

The Galway minor hurlers were on the end of a solid trouncing by a lively and polished Limerick team last weekend in the All-Ireland semi-final. The final score was Limerick 1-27 to Galway's 2-9.

Limerick were first out of the traps and took an early lead of 0-6 to 0-1 after only seven minutes that they never looked like relinquishing.

Kinvara's Conor Whelan did hit two goals for Galway to stem the tide to a degree in the first half, but the Munster champions led by nine points at half-time, 1-17 to 2-5.

The Treaty men were superior in many positions all through the contest and the fact that Galway's entire half-back line was replaced by the start of the second half points to the difficulties they faced.

Galway were always playing catch-up and were only able to manage four points in the second half to Limerick's 10.

Limerick are hot favourites now to go on and win their first All-Ireland minor title since 1984.

There were no excuses offered for the heavy defeat and team manager Mattie Murphy was honest in his assessment of his team's performance.

"We got mauled. There is no point putting it any other way. When we win, management takes the plaudits, and when we don't, the management has to accept responsibility for it."

Galway: G Loughnane (Loughrea ), D Cronin (Cappataggle ), O Coyle (Loughrea ), S Roche (Kilnadeema-Leitrim ), R Doyle (Turlough ), J Holland (Turlough ), R Bellew (Padraig Pearses ), D Nevin (Cappataggle ) (0-2 ), K McHugo (Tommie Larkins ), C Whelan (Kinvara ) (2-0 ), D Mangan (Kilconieron ), S Linnane (Turlough ), J Grealish (Gort ) (0-2 ), B Burke (Killimordaly ) (0-4, 3fs ), C Shaughnessy (Turloughmore ) (0-1 ).

Subs used: C O' Reilly, S Loftus, S Barrett, J Mannion, C Burke.


Page generated in 0.1196 seconds.