Galway Science Festival is another stellar success

The 16th Galway Science and Technology Festival attracted a record 20,000 visitors to its final day at NUI Galway on Sunday.

The highlight of the festival for many, the final day free exhibition boasted more than 100 interactive exhibits from leading Galway-based organisations, in addition to those from several schools.

Sponsored by Medtronic with support from Science Foundation Ireland, the festival has become a popular event in Galway with free shows provided in 180 primary and secondary schools throughout Galway city and county during its two-week run.

The event culminated in the exhibition’s award ceremony, recognising excellence among young people in science and technology.

Dominican College, Taylor’s Hill, students Aoife Troxel and Sive Neary received the 2013 Galway Science Persons of the Year Award, for their achievement in winning the ‘2013 John Hooper Medal for Statistics’ and also coming second in the world for their poster Tracing the Roots of Irish Vegetables at the ‘International Statistical Literacy Poster Competition’.

The 2013 Outstanding Achievement Awards winners were Edel Browne from Presentation College Athenry, Kinsale Community College students Sophie Healy-Throw, Emer Hickey and Ciara Judge, and a second win for the Dominican College’s Aoife Troxel and Sive Neary.

Of the 20 schools from Galway that participated in the festival exhibition, the best exhibits were Milltown National School, Galway Educate Together, and Gaelscoil De hide.

The 2013 Outstanding Contribution to STEM were presented to Dr Muriel Grenon, lecturer in cellular genetics and biochemistry at the School of Natural Sciences, NUI Galway, and to Dee King from Dominican College, Taylor’s Hill, for her continued engagement with her students in promoting science.

The secondary school winners of the ReelLife Science Video Competition were in first place, Coláiste Éinde for their video Life in Space, second place went to St Mary’s College for their video The Future for Stem Cells; and third place went to Claregalway College for their video Littering. Coláiste Croi Mhuire, Spiddal was shortlisted for their video Crying with Emotion.

The primary school winners of the ReelLife Science Video Competition were, in first place, Scoil Mhuire Rosmuc for their video Scaipeadh síolta i Rosmuc. Second Place went to Cloghans Hill NS for their video Germ Busters and third place went to Belmont NS for their video Five Senses. Gaelscoil Riabhach was shortlisted for their video School Survey, and Scoil Padraig Naofa, Cregmore for their video Tour de Body.


Page generated in 0.2670 seconds.