Claregalway too strong

Galway champions Claregalway have claimed this year’s Connacht ladies’ minor club football crown with a comprehensive victory over Clann na nGael of Roscommon at Kilkerrin/Clonberne on Sunday.

Claregalway, with seven county players, including four who won an All-Ireland with Galway earlier in the year, were worthy of their favourites’ tag, winning by 2-22 to 0-6.

The Galway team went into a four-point lead before Clann na nGael’s Kayleigh Dunning scored their first.

After the 16th minute Claregalway pulled away, taking a 2-11 to 0-03 lead by half time.

With the big lead Claregalway took their foot off the gas for the second half, but still had too much for the Roscommon girls as they out-scored them by 11 points to 3. Best on the day for Claregalway were Louise Brennan, who scored 1-09, and Ruth Horkan at full back, who won the player of the match award.

Claregalway: Deirdre Cullina, Eva Gilmore, Ruth Horkan, Elle Glynn, Karen Dowd, Eimile Gavin, Orla Murphy, Siobhan Gavin, Megan Glynn (0-04 ), Aislinn Newell (0-02 ), Siofre Leonard (0-03 ), Ciara Burke (0-01 ), Grace Cahill, Michelle Dunlavy (1-03,2 frees ), Louise Brennan (1-09 ).


Page generated in 0.1242 seconds.