Kilkerrin/Clonberne's title run continues

Kilkerrin/Clonberne were crowned senior champions for a fourth successive season, seeing off pretenders Claregalway by 1-12 to 1-9 in Monivea on Saturday.

It took 13 minutes of added time to settle this decideer with the holders emerging victorious over a gallant Claregalway.

A relatively young team with underage players, Clareglaway were hoping to make the breakthrough after losing by 15 in last year's final, and although they pushed the holders close, it was not enough to stop Kilkerrin/Clonberne continuing their domination.

With a host of Galway county players on show, both teams produced a high octane physical contest, which resulted in several stoppages, included a prolonged spell in the 44th minute after clash of heads between Deirdre Brennan and Chloe Miskell.

A goal from Claregalway's Charlotte Cooney in the sixth minute of injury time brought the score back to 1-11 to 1-9, but Olivia Divilly sealed Kilkerrin/Clonberne's win wih her eighth free in the 70th minute.

Claregalway had taken the game to their heavily fancied opponents, and three frees from Galway U16 player Andrea Trill helped them into an early 0-4 to 0-1 lead. Kilkerrin/Clonberne went 23 minutes without scoring before Annette Clarke struck after 27 minutes, and a Nicola Ward goal gave Kilkerrin/Clonberne a 1-3 to 0-5 lead at the break.

Olivia Divilly, and Nicola and Louise Ward all won frees in the second half, all of which Divilly converted. She nailed seven points in the half, six from placed balls, which was enough to see off Claregalway's challenge.

tain Annette Clarke who injured her knee in the second period.

Kilkerrin/Clonberne: L Murphy, A Costello, S Gormally, EFlanagan; C Costello, N Ward (1-0 ), C Boyle; A Clarke (capt 0-1 ), S Divilly; O Divilly (0-9, eight frees ), L Gannon (0-1 ), L Ward; C Miskell, K Finnegan, C Dunleavy. Subs: L Walsh for C Costello (blood, 24-31 ); L Walsh (0-1 ) for C Costello (half time ); AM Finnerty for Clarke (36 ).

Claregalway: R Horkan; K Dowd, E Gavin, O Dixon; A Glynn, F Cooney, O Murphy; S Gavin (0-1 ), M Glynn; C Moran, E Glynn, D Brennan (0-4, three frees ); A Gavin (0-1 ), C Cooney (1-0 ), A Trill (0-3, three frees ). Subs: T Hession for Moran (half time ).


Page generated in 0.1596 seconds.