Galway Film Fleadh Awards 2013

RUN & JUMP and Coming Home were the main winners at the Galway Film Fleadh Awards 2013 which took place in the Town Hall Theatre on Sunday.

The awards ceremony, which closed the fleadh, was attended by Uachtarán na hÉireann Michael D Higgins and film stars Saoirse Ronan and Zachary Quinto.

Run & Jump, directed by Steph Green, won both the Best Irish Feature Award and the Best First Irish Feature.

The film follows Vanetia Casey (Maxine Peake ), who is struggling to get life back to normal after her husband Conor (Edward MacLiam ) suffers a rare stroke that changes his personality.

Coming Home, directed by Vico Nikci, won the Best Irish Feature Documentary and the Best Human Rights Documentary awards.

This Irish made film examines the case of Angel Cordero who was wrongfully imprisoned for 13 years in New York. The film follows Angel from days before his release to his first steps as a free man, to rediscovering technology, to reuniting with family and supporters, to eventually confronting the man who confessed to committing the crime in a one-on-one meeting.

The Galway Hook Awards went to Irish actress Saoirse Ronan; James Morris, former chair of the Irish Film Board; and Miriam Allan, managing director and co-founder of the Galway Film Fleadh.

The Galway Film Fleadh Pitching Award went to Jacinta Owens for her project, C-Me 2020, while the Bingham Ray New Talent Award went to Kelly Thornton for her portrayal of Emma in Life’s A Breeze.

The James Horgan Award for Best Animation went to The Missing Scarf (director - Eoin Duffy ). The Best First Animation Award was presented to That’s Not Supposed To Happen (director - Rory Kerr ).

The International Federation of Film Societies presented the Don Quixote Prize in the animation short film category to director Alan Holly and producer Ciaran Deeney for Coda.

The Best First Short Drama was awarded to Rubai (director - Louise Ní Fhiannachta ) while the Tiernan MacBride Award for Best Short Drama went to Mechanic (director - Tom Sullivan and Feidhlim Cannon ).

The Best Short Documentary Award was won by The End of The Counter (director - Laura McCann ), while the winner of the 30 Minute Film Festival, featuring minute-long films, was won by Robert Gaynor for The Canon.

The Best International Feature award went to Discoverdale (director - George Kane ), while The Best International First Feature went to Boy Eating The Birds Food (director - Ektoras Lygizos ).

The Best International Feature Documentary was won by Plot for Peace (director - Carlos Agullo and Mandy Jacobson ). The Donal Gilligan Award for Best Cinematography in a Short Film was won by James Mather for The Girl.


Page generated in 0.3059 seconds.