Archbishop announces new appointments in Tuam archdiocese

Archbiship of Tuam Michael Neary

Archbiship of Tuam Michael Neary

Archbishop of Tuam Michael Neary has announced a series of new diocesan appointments which will take effect from Friday July 19.

The changes are to reflect a number of retirements in the diocese which spreads across Galway and Mayo. It also accommodates some priests who are to be given extra duties in the operation of the diocese or who are to minister overseas.

The changes are:

Rt. Rev. Mgr. Dermot Moloney, PP., V.G., Crossboyne to retire. He continues as Vicar General.

Very Rev. James Canon Quinn, CC, Taugheen to have responsibility for the pastoral and sacramental care of Crossboyne and responsibility for the administration of Taugheen.

Very Rev. Martin O’ Connor, PP, V.F., Ballindine to have responsibility on behalf of the cluster for the Administration of Crossboyne.

Very Rev. Anthony Canon King, PP, V.F., Athenry to retire.

Very Rev. James Canon Walsh, PP., Kilmeena to retire as Parish Priest. As assistant priest he will have responsibility for the Pastoral and Sacramental care of the parish.

Very Rev. Charlie McDonnell, Adm., Westport to have responsibility for administration of Kilmeena parish.

Very Rev. John Garvey, PP, Carnacon to retire.

Very Rev. Gerry Burns, PP, Letterfrack to minister in the Diocese of Orlando in the United States.

Very Rev. Brendan Canon Kilcoyne, President, St. Jarlath’s College, to be PP, and V.F., in Athenry.

Rev. Michael Farragher, CC, Castlebar to be PP, Carnacon.

Rev. Ronnie Boyle, CC, Achill to be PP, Letterfrack.

Rev. Seán Cunningham, CC, Tuam to be C.C., Castlebar.

Rev. Frank McGrath, S.M.A., Williamstown to be CC, Achill.

Very Rev. Patrick Mooney, PP, Glenamaddy, to have responsibility for administration of Williamstown parish.

Rev. Tom Kearney, SMA, CC, Keel, Achill to retire and return to the Society of African Missions at the end of Summer, 2013.

Very Rev. John Fallon, PP., Kilmaine, to be Canon of the Cathedral Chapter.

Very Rev. Des Walsh, PP, Lackagh, to be Canon of the Cathedral Chapter.


Page generated in 0.2637 seconds.