Corinthians maintain drive for promotion

Corinthians retained the Ken Dolan Memorial Trophy in fine style away to Old Crescent on Saturday, and also kept pace at the top of the Ulster Bank League division two table.

In this 48 - 20 victory at Rosbrien, Corinthians ensured their promotion hopes remain a reality as they are neck and neck with leaders Terenure, separated only by points difference.

Although missing four front-line players on Saturday, Corinthians demonstrated their strength in depth to post seven tries.

The home side was first off the mark when outhalf Aidan McNulty slotted a penalty after the visitors’ back row was pulled for infringing, but several minutes later Corinthian outhalf Mick O’Flynn levelled.

Corinthians bagged their first try after 20 minutes when good driving by lock Gary Warde and prop Finlay Bealham set up field position before centre James Buckley found right winger Darrin Classen who ran in for the touchdown, O’Flynn adding the extras.

From the resulting drop off Old Crescent right winger Liam Meade collected the ball and ran in for an opportunist try after sloppy defence by the Cloonacauneen outfit, but just before the break Corinthians had the home side under pressure, and although Buckley was denied a try, a five metre scrum provided the impetus for Classin to post his second try in the corner, leaving the Tuam road outfit leading by 15-8 at the break.

Within three minutes of the restart, Corinthians had grabbed a third. A turnover in the scrum with Tom Toolan and Kevin O’Byrne doing the business, O’Flynn, Cian Begley and Buckely were all involved before man of the match Steven Bruce crossed for the try, with O’Flynn adding the extras.

Bruce then scored his second and his side’s fourth try minutes later from an intercept and O’Flynn’s conversion put the Galway side 30-8 ahead.

Corinthians continued the rout. Left wing Owen Daly, captain Fionn Gormley, and Bruce added to the tally.

Corinthians: D Classin, O Daly, J Buckley, C Begley, F Gormley (capt ), M O’Flynn, S Bruce, D Phelan, A Casanova, C Rartery, U Dillane, G Warde, T Toolan, K O’Byrne, F Bealham. Subs; M Lee, M Byrne, M Flynn, E Flynn, B Dixon.


Page generated in 0.1668 seconds.