Corofin join Salthill and Milltown in semi-finals

The replay of the county football quarter-final between Claregalway and Corofin took place on Saturday evening in Tuam Stadium with last year’s beaten finalists Corofin advancing on a 1-15 to 1-10 score-line.

Brian Silke’s charges were powered to victory following a well-taken goal by former All-Ireland minor winner Justin Burke.

Burke impressed at full-forward and used possession well, while Michéal Lundy was also lively in the full-forward line.

Alan O’Donovan shot 0-6 (4fs ) and punished any Claregalway indiscipline and his side led 0-7 to 0-4 at half time, with Gary Sice, Michael Comer and Alan Burke also raising flags.

Brian Moran did most of the scoring for Eoin O’Donnellan’s side, but Corofin, inspired by Greg Higgins at midfield, ramped things up in the third quarter and led by 1-11 to 0-5 going into the last 15 minutes.

A late punched goal by county goalkeeper Adrian Faherty came far too late to give his side any chance of a comeback.

Corofin: D Morris, P Kelly, K Fitzgerald (cpt ), C Silke, K McGrath, G Delaney (0-1 ), A Burke (0-1 ), D Burke, G Higgins (0-2 ); G Sice 0-1, D Burke (0-1 ), M Comer 0-1, M Lundy (0-2 ), J Burke (1-0 ), A O’Donovan (0-6, 4 frees ). Subs: A Lawless for Silke, J Canney for Sice, A Donnellan for Daithí Burke, K Murphy for Comer.

Claregalway: B Donoghue; S Cunniffe (cpt ), D Heaney, A Watson; C Glynn, C Costello, M Evans (0-1 ), J Nallen, B Cullinane; E O’Connell (0-2, 1 free ), J Garrett, R O’Flynn (0-1 ), B Moran (0-4, 3 frees ), A Faherty (1-0 ), P McGuinness (0-1 ). Subs: JP O’Connell for Garrett, B Loughlin for Glynn, B Day (0-1 ) for O’Flynn.


Page generated in 0.1788 seconds.