Mervue take control over Galway United

Mervue Utd 2 Galway Utd 0

In the first game played under Mervue's new floodlighting system at Fahy’s field, it was the home side that took the game to their more illustrious opponents GalwayUnited in the Eircom u-20 League.

Early dominance from Mervue was rewarded when Mervue opened the scoring after a good build-up down the left flank involving Kenny Farrell, Shane Maher, and Michael Lundy. Lundy’s inviting cross found Maher again and he finished in style to give Mervue a well-deserved lead.

The expected Galway United onslaught in the second period with the wind in their favour never materialised as the Mervue lads handled everything thrown at them on the night, with Paul Scally, Shane Maher and Alex Lee dominating the midfield and both Martin Connelly and the outstanding Philip Ryan marshalling the Mervue rearguard.

It was a marvellous finish from Pat Huban that sealed the tie for Mervue after some excellent work from Alex Lee on the right that gave Mervue victory on the night.

Mervue have now moved back to the top of the table with seven points in their first three games, all against established League of Ireland sides.

Mervue Utd face Salthill Devon next for the first of the local derby games this season.

Mervue Utd: Josh Tierney, David O'Brien, Martin Conneelly, Philip Ryan, Kenny Farrell, Alex Lee, Shane Maher, Paul Scally, Michael Lundy, Pat Huban, Gary Price. Subs: Paul Smith, Dan Cunningham, Rory Gaffney, Eibhinn Lee, Neil Douglas

Galway Utd squad: Ger Hanley, Jason McDonagh, Willie McDonagh, Jason Molloy, Levi Tierney, Robert Timony, Niall Walsh, Williams Enubele, Hafeez Sholala, Danny Burke, Jack O’Doherty, Enda Keane, Shane Hynes, Gerard McDonagh, James Minogue, Craig Reape, Julius Leke.



Page generated in 0.1143 seconds.