Kerry legend to present Dream Team awards

• Legendary Kerry All-Star Jack O’Shea is the guest of honour at this year’s Claregalway Hotel GAA Dream Team Awards which take place tomorrow evening.

Clubs from throughout the county will be represented at the event in The Claregalway Hotel when O’Shea will present the awards.

The 2010 Claregalway Hotel Dream Team is dominated by county champions Killererin and St James.

O’Shea’s name is synonymous with Kerry football since making his senior debut with the Kingdom in 1977. A seven-times senior All-Ireland winner and six-times All-Star, O’Shea was a supreme exponent of the classic high-fielding midfield tradition. He was Texaco Footballer of the Year 1980, 1981 and again in 1984 and 1985 during Kerry’s glory years. The Cahirciveen man continued playing with Kerry until 1992 and is currently a GAA columnist with The Sunday Times.

A small number of tickets are still available for tomorrow’s event. Contact Tommy 091-738200.

Camogie stars rewarded

All Ireland finalists Galway picked up three awards at a special function at Croke Park Hotel, to honour impressive displays throughout the Gala Senior Camogie Championship.

In association with the Irish Daily Star and Gala, players were chosen for their top-class displays during the championship and among the winners were Galway’s wing forward Brenda Hanney, sharpshooter Aislinn Connolly, and wing- back Regina Glynn.

The remaining five winners were Wexford’s All Ireland winning duo, Mary Leacy and team mate Aoife O’Connor, and Cork’s Gemma O’Connor, Jennifer O’Leary and Anna Geary.

This is the inaugural year of the Irish Daily Star/Gala Performance Award scheme. Galway trio Brenda Hanney, Aislinn Connolly and Regina Glynn were also chosen as 2010 Camogie Association All Stars.


Page generated in 0.1839 seconds.