Unbeaten Connacht win interpro crown

Connacht Rugby has received a huge boost with the province’s Youths claiming this year’s interprovincial title.

They did so with a dominant 13 - 0 win over their Leinster counterparts and title holders at the Galway Sportsground on Saturday.

Connacht, already winners over Munster and Ulster, looked the superior side on the day, and although all their scores came in the first half, their well organised and committed defence kept Leinster scoreless.

An early Callum Boland penalty was followed by the game’s only try when Jack Carty initiated the move that was finished by Jack Vaughan. Boland converted and added a second penalty for a well deserved 13 - 0 lead.

Leinster enjoyed greater possession in the second half, but they never penetrated the Connacht defence. The midfield cover of Andrew Fallon and Vaughan stood firm, while Joe Keane made crucial tackles out wide.

Up front captain Aaron Conneely led by example, supported by the impressive Daniel Qualter and Jamie Dever in a powerful back row, ensuring an unbeaten Connacht were deserving interprovincial winners.

Connacht: C Boland (Buccaneers ); C Feeney (Galwegians ), J Vaughan (Connemara ), A Fallon (Galwegians ), J Keane (Westport ); J Carty (Buccaneers ), B Digby (Buccaneers ); D Moloney (Corinthians ), G McConnell (Creggs ), J Gill (Westport ); C Kindergan (Monivea ), E Tarmey (Galwegians ); J Dever (Westport ), Aaron Conneely (Corinthians ), D Qualter (Buccaneers ). Replacements: O Tierney (Corinthians ), D McNelis (Monivea ), D Higgins (Ballinasloe ), D Heath (Sligo ), L Laheen (Monivea ), R Burke (Galwegians ), O Vand Der Grijn (Sligo ).


Page generated in 0.1901 seconds.