Galway GAA gears up for re-start

The return of the Allianz hurling and football leagues will be hugely welcomed by Galway fans when they kick off next month.

As sports resumes across the country, live coverage of the hurling and football leagues will be broadcast for all those spectators who will not be able to attend games.

The action for Galway kicks off on TG4 on May 8 with the 2021 Allianz Hurling League fixture Westmeath v Galway (2pm Cusack Park ); May 16, Galway v Limerick (3.45pm Pearse Stadium ); May 22, Tipperary v Galway (1.30pm Semple Stadium ); June 6, Galway v Waterford (3.45pm Pearse Stadium ); June 13, Cork v Galway (1.45pm Pairc ui Chaoimh ).

Galway footballers kick off their campaign on May 15 against Kerry (3pm Austin Stack Park, Tralee ); May 23, Galway v Roscommon (2pm Pearse Stadium ); May 30, Galway v Dublin (3.45pm Tuam ).

Joe Connolly

Former hurling great Joe Connolly is a special guest of Mairtin Tom Sheainin on TG4 this evening (7.30pm ) chatting hurling, growing up with six brothers, and how Ballybrit was a sports ground for all the locals of Castlegar.

There are memories of all seven Connolly boys on the Castlegar team that became All Ireland Senior Club Champions.

GAA Cul Camps

One million Irish children have spent their summers taking part in the GAA Cul Camps over the past decade, and the popular camps are set to continue thanks to Kellogg's sponsorship.

The camps start on June 28 and run up to August 27 in line with government guidelines. The camps provide all primary school children aged from six to 13 with a week of Gaelic games activity.

New strategic plan

The GAA's new strategic plan will be finalised and published this autumn, and opportunities for club members and the public to have their say will take place over the summer.

The GAA says a steering group led by uachtarán Larry McCarthy has begun its research that includes engaging with every level of the association, according to the GAA.

Uachtarán CLG Larry McCarthy says the GAA has already undergone a "period of intense reflection on matters as diverse as the shape of our season, the formation of competitions and playing rules and the development of young players".

“We want to ensure the GAA is perfectly placed in the post-Pandemic world to be the sort of vibrant, supportive and relevant association that we all want it to be.

He says the proposed strategic plan which covers up to 2026, will enable the organisation put the GAA on that road.

"Every unit of the association will have an opportunity to have their voice heard. I’d encourage all of our volunteers, members and players to take this opportunity to play a part in shaping our future together.”

Phase one of the plan has commenced and seeks to establish the key issues that face the association. Phase Two will involve a public survey, tailored for club members, but which will be made available to everyone to contribute.

Ard stiúrthóir Tom Ryan says the purpose of the plan is to answer some fundamental questions about the organisation.

"Answering these questions will involve us looking at our core purpose, our goals and objectives, our structures, our collective roles and responsibilities, and how we get things done."

As part of the initial phase, feedback is being sought through: Surveys and focus groups with a sample of individuals representing players, coaches, officers, and other club and county volunteers; workshops with An Coiste Bainistíochta and the GAA’s staff executive; surveys with GAA staff; written submissions from key groups such as central sub-committees, county committees, sister organisations, schools’ bodies, government bodies, the GPA, sponsors and media; interviews with experts.

Members of the GAA Strategic Plan 2021-2026 Steering Group are: Larry McCarthy (uachtarán CLG ), Tom Ryan (ard-stiúrthóir CLG ), Ruairí Harvey (planning coordinator CLG ), Conor McCarthy (O’Donovan Rossa, Cork ), Dr Elish Kelly (Padraig Pearses, Roscommon ), Pat Gilroy (St Vincent's, Dublin ), Paul Foley (Patrickswell, Limerick ), Prof David Hassan (St Mary’s GAC, Banagher, Derry ), Shane Flanagan (Johnstownbridge, Kildare ), and Tim Murphy (Brosna, Kerry ).


Page generated in 0.1919 seconds.