Dylan Murphy releases new EP

Galway based guitarist contemplates state of the world on Make Plans

Dylan Murphy.

Dylan Murphy.

DYLAN MURPHY, guitarist with Steven Sharpe & The Broke Straight Boys, makes a further step into solo territory with his new EP, Make Plans, his most confident and assured solo release to date.

The tone is set by the gritty and raucous, yet earworm, slice of rockabilly and r&b opening track 'Anxious Times', inspired by contemporary political turmoil, the rise of the far right, and the post-truth phenomenon which have engulfed the world in recent years: "And the words we used before don’t mean the same things anymore, get on your knees and pray that two and two don’t equal four."

'Beirut' continues in the same vein, but a change of pace comes with the waltzing, almost country, 'Stretch', which considers a very dysfunctional relationship: "I can't picture life without you...and I mean that in the worst possible way." It also boasts a chorus recalling The Band. Closer 'A Little Rain' has a jazzy touch, and some tasteful guitar work.

The EP was recorded by Dylan and his band The 40ft Women - Colm Bohan (bass ) and My Fellow Sponges' David Shaughnessy (drums ) - at Willow Sea Studios in Furbo in Galway.



Page generated in 0.0929 seconds.