No failures, just great indie

A Litany Of Failures: Volume II to be launched at Róisín Dubh

Dott. Photo:- Hob Junker

Dott. Photo:- Hob Junker

DO NOT be fooled by the title. A Litany Of Failures: Volume II, a new album featuring 18 songs from Irish DIY, post-punk, and indie band, contains some of the most exciting young musicians currently at work.

Among the artists featured are Galway indie-pop/garage rockers Dott and indie-rocker Field Trip, while Dublin band Shrug Life, who have Galway connections are also included. All three bands, along with Junk Drawer, play at the album's vinyl launch in the Róisín Dubh this Friday, July 13, at 8pm.

The album opens with Dott's 'U Don't Have 2', which deals with the issue of consent. The song also appears on their new album Heart Swell. Field Trip's 'Long List' was recorded and mixed by the trio of Sean, Paul, and Wayne in a sitting room in Sandy Road, and is a meditation on being overwhelmed by a long agenda of important things to do and ending up not doing any of them.

Shrug Life's '2009' was recorded and mixed by Daniel Fox in Sonic Recording Studios, Stoneybatter, Dublin. It details a period of sleep deprived psychosis involving the ghost of John Lennon and supermarket panic attacks. Junk Drawer's 'Year Of The Sofa' is about a person who spends a lot of time preparing for a mythical perfect moment, rather than actually carrying out said plans.

Also featured on the album are No Monster Club, Dott Big Monster Love, Hot Cops, Any Joy, Postcard Versions, Blue Whale, Alien She, The Sunshine Factory, Nervvs, Fonda, Cherym, Tuath, Ghost Office, and That Snaake.

Admission is €7. A Litany Of Failures: Volume II is available on 180g double gatefold vinyl and digitally via Bandcamp, Spotify, and other services.


Page generated in 0.1797 seconds.