First official competitions of the season tee off around the county



Padraig Martin was the winner of last weekend’s competition sponsored by Lawnmower and Tool Hire, Castlebar. He finished on 39pts, with Billy Gallagher coming home in second and Liam Ralph in third. The ladies’ competition was won by Louise McMahon on 41pts. Geraldine Kilgallon was second with Kitty O’Connor third. Breda Cleary was the ladies’ category prize winner. Next weekend’s competition is the first golfer of the year qualifier event. The Wednesday roll up will continue up to and including March 28 at 11am. The evening scrambles will commence on April 4 at 5pm and continue on each Wednesday evening throughout the summer.


Last weekend’s competition sponsored by Willie Forde saw Andrew Hickey take the junior competition. Tommy Moran won the gents, with Leo Forkan second and Anthony McNichola third. The ladies’ event was won by Fiona Prenty with Marina Coyne second.


The Heiton Buckley sponsored 18 hole stableford competition was held over St Patrick’s weekend. The winner was Brian Ainsworth with a great score of 41pts, he was followed in second place by Tony O’Malley on 40 points. John Gilligan came third, Kenneth Irwin won the gross prize, and Shane O’Connor won the junior competition with 40 points. The competitions for the next few weekends will continue to be played over white tees. Next weekend’s competition is 18 hole stableford sponsored by Cleaning Corporation.

The ladies competition was won by Kathleen Sweeney with a great score of 38 points. Breda Gilvarry was second with 37 points, Claire Granahan was third with 36 points and Veina Brett was fourth with 34 points.


Captains Martin McLaughlin and Margie Coughlan enjoyed a very pleasant morning for their drive in last Sunday. A large crowd turned out to support McLaughlin and Coughlan and to participate in the fun scramble. The scramble was sponsored by Bosh Bar & Restaurant, Castlebar. The winning team consisted of Owen Vincent Gallagher, Saski Eland, Helen Walker, and Patsy Noone. Runners up were Paul Gavin, Maureen O’Hara, John McVie, and Peter Sheridan.

Next Sunday’s free-sub stroke competition is open to ladies and gents and is the first event of the new season. The winner will enjoy free golf for 2012. To add spice to the occasion, this will be a golfer of the year for men.


Page generated in 0.0928 seconds.