Galway Athletics Report

National track and field league final

The final of the national track and field league was held on Sunday last in Tullamore, with two Galway teams competing for national honours, Galway County Ladies and GCH Men's team.

Galway ladies placed sixth in the final, under manager Sarah Finnegan. Highlights came via Maeve Curley, who was the sole winner of the day in the 1500m walk, and Cathy McKenna who took second in the javelin.

There were strong scores posted across the 15 event programme by team members Niamh Hennelly in the 1500m, Sarah and Rachel Finnegan in the 100m and 400m hurdles, Maebh Brannigan at 800m, Aine O Farrell in the 3k, Lydia Doyle in the 100m, Aoife Sheehy in the 400m, and Sinead Treacy over 200m and long jump, while in the field events Cliona Horan in the discus, Lorraine Delaney in the high jump, and Laura Cunningham in the triple jump all scored heavily for the Galway ladies.

GCH premier men’s team led by inspirational manager Brendan Glynn also claimed sixth spot, and his talented young squad had strong showings from a number of top athletes. Irish international sprinter Cillin Greene won the 200m in 21.7, and placed third in the 100m, Linas Mitkas was second in both the shot putt and discus, there was a third spot for Bryan Ndego in the high jump, and Brendan Staunton was fourth in the hammer and third in the weight throw. There were also good performances via Matt Bidwell in the 5k, Rob Meagher in the 400m, Jonah Erugo in the javelin, James Frizzell in the 1500m, Henrique Nvokolata in both the long jump and triple jump, Neill Keane in his debut over 800 metres, a fourth place for Seamus Leddy in the walk, and third place spots in both relay events for the four man teams.

Caltra 5km

Daire Comer of Tuam AC won the county 5km road championships last Saturday on a fast course in Caltra. The dedicated and hard training Tuam AC athlete stormed home in a time of 16.56. Second home was Sean McDermott of Castlegar AC just three seconds back, with Ger Hartnett of Tuam AC third in 17.27. First lady home was Aine O Farrell of Athenry AC in 19.24, with her clubmates Maggie Vahey second and Mary Kealey in third.

Paul Keane, a new recruit for GCH won the 10km in a solid time of 36.30, as he continues his Berlin marathon preparations in earnest.

Claregalway 10k

The 30th annual Claregalway 10k road race takes place Saturday August 26 next at 6pm, on a flat one lap course. Entry fee is €20 on [€5 from each entry fee goes to Galway Hospice], with a T-shirt for all entries and the race is chip timed. Race pack pick-up and late entries (taken up to 5.30pm ) will be at the Community Centre, Claregalway, Co Galway, with the race starting outside Claregalway National School and finishing outside Claregalway Community Centre.

There will be prizes for the first five individual men, the first five individual ladies and the first two men and ladies over 40, 50, and 60, and the Brendan Gavin memorial plaque will be awarded for the largest team entered. Refreshments will be provided afterwards in the Community Centre.


Page generated in 0.2270 seconds.