Jes make breakthrough

Coláiste Iognáid won their first Connacht Junior football championship title on Monday when overcoming a gallant Glenamaddy by 2-8 to 0-7 at Pearse Stadium.

The Jes have played more than 10 games this season in this grade, and they were full value for their seven-point win in the C football final.

The two crucial goals were scored by midfielder Cillian Cleary and team captain Dara Golden, both Barna players.

The city school had other powerful displays from the impressive Niall Hanahoe, Dara Hanrahan, Ben Kelly, Mac Dara O Griofa, Evan Kenny, Cian Gilroy, Mark O'Farrell, and young goalkeeper George Hill.

Liam Rooney and Harry Devlin were also doing well before both players were forced off with injuries.

Glenamaddy, coached by Dave Lennon and Mick Curtin, were last year's champions. They put in a valiant effort and kept going right to the final whistle, with good performances from team captain and centre-forward Oisin Hynes, Morgan Neary, Conor Raftery, and full-back Odhran Geraghty.



Page generated in 0.0974 seconds.