Cup-winning NUIG Mystics too strong

NUIG Mystics dominated from beginning to end, overcoming Oblate Dynamos by 71-44 to claim their first national basketball trophy.

"I'm absolutely thrilled," said Mystic’s coach Mike Murray. "They deserve it, they worked very hard."

Although the Galway outfit had beaten their opponents the week before Sunday's cup decider, Mystics took nothing for granted, and started strong with Michelle Fahy, Marritta Gilcrease, Lauren Murray, Ailish O'Reilly and Siobhan Kilkenny.

They ran out to a 15-0 lead early in the first quarter - strong defensive work causing numerous turnovers which were converted at the other end. The first quarter ended 25-7 in Mystics' favour with Kilkenny, Fahy, and Gillcrease dominating the scoring.

The second quarter saw more of the same, with Deirdre O'Shea and Catherine Connaire introduced for NUIG Mystics up front and Hannah Coen and Leah Cunningham maintaining NUIG Mystics dominance on the boards. The second quarter ended with NUIG Mystics having built up a considerable 42-19 lead.

O'Reilly continued to cause trouble for the Oblate guards, with Gillcrease and Fahy remaining supreme on the boards to enjoy a 58-31 lead. With the result not in doubt, Emer Smyth, Suzanne McDonagh and Rebecca Hansberry all came into the action before celebrating a special win for the team.

NUIG Mystics: Siobhan Kilkenny 14, Michelle Fahy 13, Marrita Gilcrease 10, Lauren Murray 2, Ailish O’Reilly 15. Substitutes: Aoibhin O’Neill, Deirdre O’Shea 11, Emer Smyth, Catherine Connaire, Sarah Grealish, Kate Lyons, Leah Cunningham 2, Rebecca Hansberry, Hannah Coen 4, Suzanne McDonagh, Rachel Gaffney, Rachel McCormack.


Page generated in 0.1632 seconds.