Weather shone on Loughrea for sell-out tenth triathlon

Darren Dunne and Lisa Horan took the major honours from the 10th anniversary Loughrea Triathlon on Sunday last.

The weather gods certainly shone on Loughrea as the sell-out event took place in dry, warm conditions with some local glory in both junior races and the youth competition.

Nenagh Triathlon Club’s Darren Dunne took the senior male win, while Limerick Triathlon Club’s Lisa Horan was first across the line in the senior female race. Loughrea’s own Tiernan Burke and Caron Ryan took the junior male and female race honours for the Predator Triathlon Club.

For the first time the Predator Triathlon Club hosted the Paratriathlon National championships – the biggest Paratriathlon race in Ireland to date. Thirteen athletes across four categories competed for the coveted national titles.

The three Paratriathlon waves went off in quick succession, with international athlete Aidan McGlynn claiming victory in the PT4 category, Garrett Turbett winning the PT3 section, while Nicolas Dewalque and his pilot Martin Kirwin of Belpark TC won the men’s PT5, and Catherine Walsh and her pilot Fran Meehan finished first in the female PT5 competition.

Over 160 juniors competed from various triathlon clubs from all over Ireland and further afield in the Velocity National Youth Championships.

The morning started with the 7-9 year old category which Mathys Bocquet from Predator TC was the first boy to cross the line, while Keela Loomes from Galway TC was the first girl home in super style.

In the 10-11 year old category it was good news for the locals as Olin Murray and Aoife Dirrane from Predator TC took the boys and girls titles. 

39 juniors raced in the 12-13 age group as Ennis TC’s Sabian Kulcynski was the first boy home and Ella Doherty led home the girls’ race.

And the 14-15 year olds section was again ruled by Predator TC members as Ben Ryan completed the 400 metre swim, 9 km cycle and 3km run in a fantastic time of 38:44, while Leah Connaughton won the girls category in an excellent time of 48:28.

This was the largest field to date, with competitors from England, Netherlands, Australia, Malaysia and all over Ireland taking part. Complete results, on-line programme and a great selection of photos are on Loughrea triathlon facebook and

Predator Club would like to thank all competitors, supporters, sponsors and the local Loughrea Community. We look forward to welcoming everybody again in 2016.

All proceeds from the event are reinvested in the youth section of the club ( )


The Vodaphone National Series Sprint results:

Senior MALE

1 Darren Dunne (Nenagh Triathlon club ) 59.50

2 Ruaidhri Geraghty (Galway Triathlon Club ) 1.01.07

3 Joseph Tannian (Predator Club ) 1.01.19

Senior Female

1 Lisa Horan (Limerick Triathlon club ) 1.09.44

2 Becky Coughlan (Go Tri Club ) 1.10.08

3 Niamh Corry 1.11.08

Junior result

1. Junior 16-17: Male:Tiernan Burke( Predator Club ) 1.05.51

1. Female 16-17: Female:Caron Ryan( Predator Club ) 1.12.54

The Paratriathlon National Champions are as follows:

PT1 – Male - Karol Doherty

PT1 – Female - Fiona Mc Cormack

PT3 – Male - Garrett Turbett

PT4 – Male - Aidan Mc Glynn

PT5 – Male - Nicolas Dewalque / Pilot Martin Kirwin

PT5 – Female - Catherine Walsh / Pilot Fran Meehan

Corporate Relay Team result:

Winners: Peter Forde Physical Therapy Team

7-9 age group 


1 Mathys Bocquet – Predator TC

2 David Kilbane - Predator TC

3 Noah Harris – Wicklow TC


1 Keela Loomes – Galway TC

2 Amelie Bocquet – Predator TC

3 Nessa Mangan – Predator TC

10-11 age group 


1 Olin Murray - Predator TC

2 Finn Harris – Wicklow TC

3 Ross McGuinness – Predator TC


1 Aoife Dirrane - Predator TC

2 Aoife McGouran – Midland TC

3. Saoirse Davis – Ennis TC

12-13 age group 


1 Sabian Kulcynski – Ennis TC

2 Cillian Jordan

3 Paul Og McCool – Midland TC


1 Ella Doherty – Ennis TC

2 Amelia Tyler –

3 Alanna Drennan

14-15 age group


1 Ben Ryan - Predator TC

2 Cian O’Keeffe

3 Cathal Browne – Ennis TC


1 Leah Connaughton - Predator TC

2 Daria Fidgeon – Midland TC

3 Caragh Hogan – Midland TC


Page generated in 0.3262 seconds.