Jes crews win at Irish Rowing Championships

Colaiste Iognaid crews were on the winners' podium three times at the Irish Rowing Championships in Cork  at the weekend.

The key victory for the Jes rowers came in the highly competitive boys' Junior 16 eight, an event that attracted crews from all over the country.

Coming into the final, the Jes were slight underdogs, but in a display of skilful rowing in difficult conditions, they turned the tables on their rivals in dramatic fashion. 

Following a fast start, they jumped into an early lead and this allowed them to control the race  before they eventually ran out comfortable winners by two lengths.  This is the first time in 16  years that the Sea Road school has won this prestigious race.  The Jes crew was Luke Mulliez, Robert McInerney, Brian Maye, Thomas Power, Daragh Coen, Shane O’Halloran, Mark Ryder, Philip Buckley and David Young (cox ).

The girls' crews also picked up a number of wins. The Junior 15 coxed quad claimed a victory in an exciting finish over a second Jes boat.  The winning crew on this occasion was Anna Coyne, Roisin Gavin, Hannah Power, Eimear Sheridan and David Young (cox ).  The girls' Junior 14 coxed quad, a crew that has won many times this year, also tasted victory in their final.  In this boat, Anna Coyne and Roisin Gavin were joined by Ruth Griffin, Ruby Murphy and Anna Young (cox ).


Page generated in 0.1623 seconds.