Walsh and Warren vie for football vacancy

Killanin’s Kevin Walsh and Tuam’s Peter Warren are the only two names nominated by Galway football clubs for the position of Galway senior football manager.

Walsh, who spent five years as Sligo senior manager and is the current Micheál Breathnach’s manager, is the hot favourite to take the position.

However Warren, who was a selector with Galway alongside John O’Mahony for the senior All-Ireland wins in 1998 and 2001, also has considerable club management experience with Tuam Stars and Davitts in Mayo.

Both men are due to be interviewed by the football manager’s committee which will propose one of them for ratification at a county committee meeting before the end of the month.

The selection committee is expected to comprise Noel Treacy (chairperson ), John Hynes (CEO ), Bernie O’Connor (treasurer ), and three football committee officials, Tadhg Ó Conghaile (chairperson ), Seamus O’ Grady (secretary ) and Milo Costello (treasurer ).

Former Galway senior manager, Liam Sammon, is also on the committee.

The same process applies for the county minor manager role vacated by John Donnellan this season and there are 10 nominees for the job.

The nominees are Matt Lawless (Barna ), Matt Duggan (Annaghdown ), Kevin Johnston (Salthill/Knocknacarra ), Terence Morgan (Moycullen ), Stephen Joyce (Clonbur ), Tommy Joyce (Killererin ), Tom Newell (Kilconly ), Jason Tannion (Kilkerrin-Clonberne ), Des Sheeran (Salthill/Knocknacarra ) and Michael Quinn (St Brendan’s ).

Hurling manager

Interviews for the county senior hurling manager are due to be held this week and it is expected the person selected will be brought forward to the county board meeting on September 29 for ratification.

The four people due to be interviewed are Anthony Cunningham, Mattie Kenny, John Kelly and Brendan Lynskey.

The selection committee is to comprise Noel Treacy (chairperson ), John Hynes (CEO ), Bernie O’Connor (treasurer ), and three hurling committee officials, Joe Byrne (chairperson ), Pat Kearney (secretary ) and John McCann (treasurer ).

Former Galway All-Ireland winning captain in 1987 and 1988 and former county manager, Conor Hayes, is also on the selection committee.


Page generated in 0.2702 seconds.