McEvilly adds 2014 title to his collection

Galway City Harrier veteran Martin McEvilly was the toast of the local athletes in the AAI National 10k Championships, held in conjunction with the Spar Great Ireland Run, in the Phoenix Park in Dublin.

On a tough course in windy and humid conditions, McEvilly enjoyed the run of the day for his club, winning yet another national title and finishing in a time of 39.32 to win the V 65s category by more than two minutes.

And another medal winner from GCH was Carmel Brannigan who won a well-deserved individual bronze in the over 50 ladies championships in a time of 46.14.

Galway City Harriers club teams performed admirably, despite times being slower than expected. The V35 men’s team comprising Brian Bruton, Brian O’Connor and Billy King took fifth place in the team category, the senior ladies’ team of Nicola O’Ceallaigh, Niamh Hennelly, and Siobhan Egan also took fifth, and the Masters team finished seventh in the over 35 section.

Connemara Marathon

Difficult weather conditions also added to the challenge at Sunday's Connemara International Marathon as capacity crowds of more than 3,000 runners lined the start lines of the three races. Participants from across Ireland, Britain, and Europe took to the scenic routes around Connemara in a half, full, and ultra marathon distances.

Athenry AC’s Ruthann Sheehan claimed the female ultra event in 5:05:29, while GCH athlete Helen Cortbett won the half marathon in 1:30:10. Janice Whyte from Antrim claimed the full marathon in 3:21:23.

Philip Harty from Waterford AC won the men's full marathon in 2:29:16, while Lezan Kimutai from Kenya won the 39.3 mile ultra event in 4:08:15. Fellow Kenyan Peter Brandon took first in the half marathon with a time of 1:09:46, with Galway’s Matt Bidwell in second place in 1:18:32.

Cope Salthill 5km

The inaugural Cope 5km saw almost 400 runners take to the Claddagh shore and the Salthill Prom for a fast 5km course on Saturday in a fundraiser for the Galway based charity Cope. Young Craughwell AC star Neil Greaney, won the race with ease in a time of 17 minutes flat. Second home was Greg Lundon in 18.07, followed by GCH’s Chris Mcgrath in 18.18 . The women’s race winner was Eimear O’Leary of MSB AC in 18.46 placing her fourth overall.


Page generated in 0.1440 seconds.