Galwegians head north in confident form

Galwegians head to Banbridge for Saturday’s Ulster Bank League clash with a real chance of continuing their push for division 2A honours.

Just two points off leaders City of Derry, Galwegians now face a tricky assignment against Banbridge, but will need to maintain their focus to record a fifth successive win.

Banbridge caused a shock last weekend when they beat leaders Ballymena, and as a result Galwegians cannot afford to take anything for granted, despite Banbridge’s 13th place on the league table.

Last Saturday they kept their100% home record in tact with their third bonus point win of the season after a six-try demolition of bottom-of-the-table side Highfield on Saturday.

The opening try on 25 minutes came from a trademark Wegians lineout move, with Dave Nolan’s clean take leading to a well-organised rumble over the line with Ja Naughton emerging with the ball.

Moments later Naughton was binned for a tip tackle, and within minutes the home side was reduced to 13 when flanker Eddie Earle saw yellow.

However the Cork side could only muster three points from a penalty by ex-Corinthian Mick O’Flynn, and just before the break Wegians struck a killer blow when a good break down the right wing by Colin Conroy and a neat pea-flick pass inside to Brian Murphy saw the Connacht centre dive over for a second try. Shaughnessy converted to make it 16-3 at the break.

Although the home side suffered a third yellow card when Nolan went to the bin, it offered little respite to the visitors. O’Flynn missed a kickable penalty to reduce arrears, and Wegians struck for try number three when replacement scrumhalf Caolin Blade darted over from close range.

The bonus fourth try which came on 50 minutes with the pack once again laying the foundation and Naughton claiming his second for a 30-3 lead.

Two more tries from Brian Murphy and Ross Shaughnessy completed the rout.

Galwegians RFC: Gavin Tynan, Colin Conroy, Jerome Harrimate, Brian Murphy, John Cleary, Ross Shaughnessy, Barry Lee, Ja Naughton, Conor Muldoon, Doran McHugh, Dave Nolan, Brian McClearn, Eoin Rooney, Eddie Earle, Sean O’Brien. Subs, Blade, Parata, Fitzgerald, Ryan, East.


Page generated in 0.1711 seconds.