Top runners vie for 10k championship title

Loughrea AC’s Grey Lake 10k, which incorporates the Galway AAI 10k Road Race Championship, takes place on Sunday at 2 pm.

The Grey Lake 10k Road Race starts near the tennis club grounds, takes in a lap of the famous Grey Lake, and finishing at St Brendan’s Cathedral.

Race Day headquarters is the Temperance Hall, Barrack St,Loughrea.

Race favourites include Matt Bidwell from Galway City Harriers and Loughrea’s Peter O’Sullivan in the men’s race, while Jane Ann Healy, Regina Casey, and Caroline Whiriskey are tipped to fight out the ladies’ event.

Category prizes will be awarded and the race day headquarters at the Temperance Hall, Barrack St, Loughrea

Weekend results

Wet weather did not deter 220 runners from taking part in the first Marconi Half Marathon in Connemara on Saturday.

Commencing at Gurteen Beach in Roundstone and finishing in Clifden town, the event was won by Furbo man Oliver Mullins of Craughwell AC with a time of 1.21 minutes

He was closely followed by Gearoid Hynes of GCH just 30 seconds behind, with David Corcoran in third. The ladies’ winner was Sinead Brody of GCH in a great time of 1.29 minutes, followed by Tina Corcoran and Eleanor Rainsford.

In Annagh near Tuam on Saturday a fundraising 5km was won by Andrew Annet of Mourne Runners in a time of 16.21. Second was Stuart Maloney of Mooreabbey Milers in a time of 16.49, while the first lady home was Caroline Whiriskey in 21 minutes, followed by Claire Rowe.

On Sunday the Castleblakeney 8km sponsored by East Galway AC raised €2000 for the oncology unit at UHG. The race was won by Philip Niland in 29.58 from Michael Keating and Kieran McLearn, while the ladies’ event was won by Aileen Hardiman in 37.15.


Page generated in 0.1787 seconds.