Oranmore double

Oranmore Badminton Club made history this year with two club teams claiming All Ireland titles.

In an amazing finish to the season, the club’s grade seven and grade nine teams came out on top at the Baldoyle Badminton Centre in Dublin - the first time two teams from the club had made it to All Ireland final day - while the Galway Lawn Tennis Club team won the grade eight title.

Having topped the Galway League and overcome NUIG in the county final, the grade seven team saw off Ballinaheglish from Roscommon at the Connacht finals in Sligo, Up against the winners from Munster and Leinster, with the winner being decided on points, Oranmore easily saw off Moyvore of Westmeath in their first match, beating them by a convincing 6-1 scoreline. Needing three points from the second match to win overall, that was exactly what they got as UL won the tie by a scoreline of 4-3. The three points were enough for the Oranmore team to secure their first All Ireland win since 1994.

Oranmore’s grade nine team had a much tougher path to Dublin but they advanced to the final when overcoming St Mary’s, Dunmanway, Cork. Oranmore emerged winners by 6-1.

Both teams, sponsored by Evergreen Healthfoods, comprised: Grade 9, Bryan Kelly (capt ), Enda Gallagher, Steven Lally, John Costello, Mike O’Neill, Blathnait Ni Mhurchu, Fiona Burke & Mary Costello. Grade 7, Derek Small (capt ), Mohit Katiyar, Tom O’Neill, Anthony McLaughlin, Joe Mullen, Martin Flannery, Karina Brennan, Fiona Sheridan, Deirdre Caulfield & Elaine Glavin (sub ).


Page generated in 0.1305 seconds.