Galway Regatta turns one hundred and thirty next month

This year’s Galway Regatta will take place on Sunday June 16 at the NUIG grounds at Dangan.

Galway’s oldest rowing regatta, this year it celebrates its 130th anniversary, and once again entries from all four provinces with many of the top rowing clubs in Ireland are expected to compete.

Hosted by the Galway Rowing Club, this year’s committee will be chaired by John Forde snr who is calling on the people of Galway to come out and “enjoy a great days rowing at this unique Galway sporting event”.

“Regatta day is always a special event in the Galway sporting calendar and holds an exceptional place in the history of Galway rowing.”

At a recent meeting of the Galway Regatta committee, it was unanimously agreed to elect James Casserly as an honorary life chairman for his outstanding contribution in previous years to the success of the Galway Regatta.

The full committee is: Honorary life chairman, James Casserly; Chairman, John Forde snr; Secretary, Mike Gannon; Treasurer, Bernard O’Halloran; PRO, Mike Hynes; Committee, Paddy Lally, Paddy Cronin, Fergal Diviney, Mike Heaney and Ollie Henry.


Page generated in 0.1537 seconds.