Turkey tennis

Donal Hegarty and Ger King were the men’s A winners of this year’s Turkey Tournament at the Galway Lawn Tennis Club on Sunday.

All sections were keenly contested with Hegarty and King winning with a score of 30 points from five wins and two draws. The runners-up were Mark Smyth and Mike Geraghty who scored 28 points from six wins and one draw.

The top two drew 3-3 in their encounter and it was just as tight in the men’s B doubles, with the experienced pairing of Nicky Nash and Brian McGoldrick edging out Chris Noonan and Pat Hynes by 21 points to 19.

Rita Halloran and Jennifer Bradley claimed the ladies’ title, defeating Jane Quirke and Kathleen Glynn in a tie-break finish after the pairs had drawn 3-3.

The club will conclude the season with its annual Christmas party on Sunday at 7pm, following a fun event from 5pm to 7pm.


Page generated in 0.2791 seconds.