Ballinasloe crowned Connacht champions

Ballinasloe GAA club ended the season on a high last Saturday after winning the Connacht Club Junior football championship crown on an impressive scoreline of 4-11 to 0-7 over Oran (Sligo ).

Two early goals from Darragh Burke and Darragh McCormack drove Ballinasloe into a 2-3 to 0-5 lead at the interval.

The Galway champions moved into a five-point lead by the end of the third quarter, and Gary Canavan and Paul Whelehan added more goals in a devastating finish to see them comprehensive victors.

Team captain and county player Keith Kelly was also in good form for Sean Riddell's side and he hit 0-5 from centre-back.

Ballinasloe: N King, S Kelly, J Shaughnessy, E Fenton, M Kelly, K Kelly (Cpt ) (0-5, 4f, 45 ), N Hynes, L Tierney, L Lynch (0-2, 1f, ‘45 ), D Burke (1-0 ), P Cunningham (0-1 ), G Canavan (1-0 ); D McCormack (1-1 ), C Riddell, P Whelehan (1-1, 1f ). Subs used, P Ryan for Riddell, M Colohan (0-1 ) for Ryan, R O’Healy for Hynes, N Stack for Fenton, S Kenny for M Kelly.



Page generated in 0.1728 seconds.