Corofin claim this year’s senior ladies’ crown

Corofin have been crowned Galway senior ladies football champions after overcoming St Brendan’s by a goal, 2-9 to 1-9 at Monivea on Sunday.

A replay of the 2011 final, in which St Brendan’s were the winners, it was Corofin’s Roisin Leonard who sealed the victory with a goal late in the second half.

In a low-scoring first half, Corofin opened with a point from Roisin Leonard, the youngest of three sisters on the team, before the experienced Gillian Joyce slotted two frees for St Brendan's.

While Lisa Leonard pointed for Corofin, Joyce blazed a penalty wide for St Brendan's before Corofin took a lead through four Tracey Leonard points ( two frees ) and one from Orla Newell.

The second half opened with another point from Roisin Leonard and once again Gillian Joyce replied with a free while Aoife Martin tagged on a point play.

The turning point arrived when the third Leonard sister, Emer, broke from centre field and scored a cracker of a goal, sparking the game into life.

St Brendan’s hit back with a Leann Walsh goal for St Brendan's before Rebecca McPhilbin and Tracey Leonard exchanged points. Joyce and Nora Ward reduced the Brendan's deficit to just two, but when Roisin Leonard kicked what looked to be a great point, it dipped under the crossbar to put Corofin back in the driving seat again.

Angela Coleman and Joyce scored two more points for St Brendan's, but it was not enough to deny Corofin this year’s title.

Corofin: Leonie Higgins, Meadhbh Moloney, Cliodhna Moloney, Ciara Ryan, Iona Burke, Michelle Glynn, Roisin Hession, Lisa Leonard, Emer Leonard, Aoife Newell, Orla Newell, Nicola Costello, Roisin Leonard, Tracey Leonard, Aoife Creaven, Patricia Gleeson, Sheila Fitzgerald, Fiona Cooley, Chloe Roche, Dearbhla Gower, Eva Higgins, Chelsey Blade, Leanne Coen, Dervla Higgins, Tara Creaven, Aine Seoighe.

St Brendan's: Emma Smith, Andrea Quinn, Áine Gilmore, Nicola Fahy, Nora Ward, Angela Coleman, Karen Conboy, Niamh Lohan, Rebecca Mc Philbin, Leann Walsh, Michelle Delaney, Aoife Martin, Liadan Greally, Gillian Joyce, Emma O’Malley, Ellen Muldoon, Hazel Hevehan, Niamh O’Rourke, Aoife Mc Donagh, Sarah Kelly, Alex Murray.

Kilkerrin Clonberne take intermediate title

It has been a great campaign for last year’s junior champions Claregalway, but they found themselves outscored 0-15 to 0-05 by the more experienced Kilkerrin Clonberne in the intermediate decider.

This promised to be a cracker, but this game was marred by a strong wind which Kilkerrin Clonberne enjoyed in the first half. They made full use of the elements with four successive opening points from Louise Ward, Olivia Divilly, Annette Clarke and Lisa Gannon, before Claregalway's Deirdre Brennan pointed from a free.

Louise Ward and Ciara Newell exchanged points before Brennan slotted over another point for Claregalway, but Kilkerrin Clonberne maintained their momentum with points from Olivia Divilly and Annette Clarke before half time.

The experienced Clarke again found her range against the breeze before Lisa Walsh and Deirdre Brennan exchanged frees. However Kilkerrin Clonberne grabbed two further points from Catriona Burke and Annette Clarke and from the boot of their captain Lisa Gannon to steer them to victory.

Kilkerrin Clonberne: Lisa Murphy, Annie Miskell, Aoife Mc Stay, Sarah Gormally, Aisling Walsh, Nicola Ward, Ailbhe Mahoney, Lisa Gannon (0-2 ), Annette Clarke (0-5 ), Aoife Heverin, Louise Ward (0-2 ), Olivia Divillly (0-3 ), Sarah Ward, Ciara Heverin, Lisa Walsh (0-1 ),Lorraine Mc Stay, Deirdre Bracken, Maria Gormally, Catriona Burke (0-2 ), Anne Marie Boyle, Katie Higgins, Karen Finnegan, Amy Boyle and Siobhan Boyle.

Claregalway: Deirdre Cullina, Emily Gavin, Helen Moran, Karen Dowd, Georgina Healy, Amy Rohan, Ruth Horkan, Siobhan Gavin, Ciara Newell (0-1 ), Aislinn Newell, Deirdre Brennan (0-3 ), Orla Dixon, Michelle Dunleavy (0-1 ), Charlotte Cooney,Ciara Burke, Hannah Coen (Capt ), Siofra Leonard, Megan Glynn, Tara Hession, Louise Brennan, Roisin Gavin, Emer O’Connell, Eimear Joyce and Roisin Holland.

Annghdown goals prove decisive

In a highly competitive junior A final, Annaghadown defeated Naomh Anna Leitirmoir by three points, 4-07 to 2-10.

After knocking at the door of intermediate for the last few years, Naomh Anna went into the contest with high expectations, and they enjoyed a good start when Barbara Ni Loinsigh slotted over a point against a strong breeze, followed by another from Niamh Ni Chualain. Grainne Barrett had a shot at goal blocked by the Naomh Anna goalie Nora Ni Ogain before Annaghadown registered their first score, a point from Aoife Scully.

Scully and Rachael King scored another two points, but Naomh Anna maintained their momentum when Aine Ni Laoi found the back of the Annaghadown net and Philomena Ni Fhlatharta converted a penalty.

However Annaghdown got right back into the contest near the end of the first half when Grainne Barrett found the Naomh Anna net with a rocket and she followed that with a second goal. When Philomena Ni Flatharta pointed for Naomh Anna, the sides were level 2-6 each at the break.

The turning point arrived with Grainne Barrett’s third goal, followed by a fourth from substitute Martha Goaley. Although Leitirmoir scored the last three points of the game, it was not enough.

Annaghadown: Clare Burke-Coen, Ashling Meehan, Marian Murray, Gemma Burke, Aine Lawless, Niamh Duggan (0-1 ) , Alison Burke, Theresa Fahy, Nicola Burke, Nicola Comer, Rachel King (0-3 ), Aoife Scully (0-2 ), Danielle Forde, Grainne Barrett (3-1 ), Chloe Crowe, Sophie Rampberg, Martha Goaley (1-0 ), Orla Scully, Aine Curry, Julie Flaherty, Amy Hardiman, Katy Moylan, Sheila Browne, Emer Walsh, Allyson Kerrigan,Martina Canavan, Ashling Kineen, Niamh O'Shaughnessy, Aoife Hession, Fiona Lawless, Maeve Forde and Jenna Furey

Naomh Anna Leitirmoir: Nóra Ní Ógáin, Delia Ní Ghríofa, Tara Ní Dhomhnaill, Marion Ní Ghríofa, Barbara Ní Loingsigh (0-1 )Sinéad Ní Cheallaigh, Anna Ní Cheallaigh, Sarah Ní Loingsigh (0-1 ), Niamh Ní Chualáin (0-1 ), Christine Nic Dhonnacha, Áine Ní Laoi (1-1 ), Mairéad Ní Loingsigh (0-1 ),Cliona Ní Cheallaigh, Marie Uí Chualáin (0-1 ), Philomena Ní Fhlatharta (1-3 ), Caoimhe Ní Laoi, Siobhán Ní Fhlatharta, Caitríona Ní Chualáin, Deirdre Seoige, Michelle Ní Chonghaile, Ríona Ní Fhlatharta (0-1 ) Caoilfhionn Ní Cheallaigh, Ciara Nic Fheargais, Sharon Ní Ógáin, Ciara Seoige, Danielle Nic Dhonnacha, Margaret Ní Dhomhnaill and Seosaimhín Ní Chonghaile



Page generated in 0.0959 seconds.