Ladies under 16s capture Connacht title

The Galway under 16 ladies football team regained the Connacht title by beating Mayo on a scoreline of 5-15 to 1-13 at Hyde Park in Roscommon on Wednesday. The half time score was 3-08 to 1-09 and it was anyone's game but Galway stepped up a gear in the second half and came away comfortable winners. They now take on the Leinister champions, Dublin, in the semi -final on the weekend of August 13/14.

Lining out for Galway were, Caoimhe Ni Laoi (Leitir Moir ), Orla Cassidy (Tuam Cortoon ), Sarah Gormally (Kilkerrin Clonbern ), Nicole Conway (Caltra ), Emile Gavin (Claregalway ), Sile Ni Suilleabhain (Na Piarsaigh ), Alice Meagher (Salthill Knocknacarra ), Nicola Ward (Kilkerrin Clonbern ), Megan Kelly (Caltra ), Breda Hanlon (Caltra ), Louise Ward (Kilkerrin Clonbern ), Mairead Lynch (Leitir Moir ), Keara Cormican (Clarinbridge ), Olivia Divilly (Kilkerrin Clonbern ), Orla Kemple (Mountbellew Moylough ), Saoirse Burke (Clarinbridge ), Darina Callanan (Ml Breathnach ), Michelle Dunleavy (Claregalway ), Megan Heneghan (Glenamaddy Williamstown ), Emma Reaney (Caltra ), Ciana Ni Churraoin (Ml Breathnach ), Leanna Walsh (St Brendan's ), Rebecca Mongan (Tuam Cortoon ), Aisling Hynes (Milltown ), Ruth Horkan (Claregalway ), Louise Brennan (Claregalway ), Ailbhe Finnerty (Salthill Knocknacarra ), Siobhan Gavin (Claregalway ), and Chloe Crowe (Annaghadown ). This team is managed by Barry Cooney with Davy Walsh, Roisin Sullivan and Chrissie Ward as selectors and Maura Burke liaison officer.

Galway ladies’ football mourns the passing of Charlie Coen. Charlie was in his 90th year and has been honorary president of Galway Ladies Football since the late nineties. Our sympathies go to his wife and family.


Page generated in 0.1578 seconds.