St Jarlath’s in All-Ireland semi-final

St Jarlath’s College take on old rivals Coláiste Chríost Rí (Cork ) in the All Ireland Senior Schools A semi-final on Saturday (2pm ) at the Claughaun GAA pitch in Limerick city.

St Jarlath’s defeated Summerhill by 3-10 to 1-12 in the Connacht final to qualify for this stage of the competition with the goals coming from team captain Ian Burke and brothers, Seán and Liam Silke.

Others who impressed in that game were full-back Conor Cunningham, Adrian and Paul Varley, Conor McNamara, Adrian Nolan, and Cathal Mulryan.

The Tuam school has not won a Hogan Cup since 2002 when Galway senior star Michael Meehan was team captain. Now team manager Joe Burke is hoping his side can secure the opportunity to do so again in 2011.

The team to start on Saturday is James Healy (Annaghdown ), Cathal Mulryan (Cortoon Shamrocks ), Conor Cunningham (Corofin ), Daniel Collins (Corofin ) Pa Glynn (Dunmore ), Adrian Nolan (Killererin ), Paul Varley (Cortoon ), Gearoid Armstrong (Salthill ), Liam Silke (Corofin ), Shane Walsh (Kilkerrin/Clonberne ), Ian Burke, Cpt, (Corofin ), Conor McNamara (Corofin ), Seán Silke (Corofin ), Adrian Varley (Cortoon ), Michael McWalter (Milltown ).

*Claughaun pitch is located five minutes from the Park Way Shopping Centre. People attending the game are advised to park in the shopping centre.



Page generated in 0.1189 seconds.