St Jarlath’s claim Connacht A title

St Jarlath’s College 3-10     Summerhill College (Sligo) 1-12

Three goals in a 10-minute blitzkrieg during the first half helped St Jarlath’s College secure their 47th Connacht title over a slightly unlucky Summerhill side.

Good points from Kilkerrin/Clonberne’s Shane Walsh and Cortoon’s Cathal Mulryan settled Joe Burke’s side before three superbly worked goals from Sean Silke, team captain Ian Burke, and hard running midfielder Liam Silke saw Jarlath’s take a 3-6 to 0-1 lead.

Adrian Varley at full-forward was winning all the ball that entered his zone and laying it off well. All three goals scored by the Tuam Blues involved some sublime teamwork and the angled running and fast transfer of the ball left the Summerhill rearguard badly exposed and ragged.

The Summerhill lads hit back well with four scores from Seamus Cawley and Patrick Herrity to leave the score 3-6 to 0-5 at half time.

Only for some magnificent full-back play and covering from Conor Cunningham in that first half, there would have been far less between the sides at the small whistle.

Summerhill outscored the Tuam lads by 1-7 to 0-4 in the second half and three of their substitutes make a massive contribution. St Jarlath’s also had fine displays from James Healy (Annaghdown ) in goal, who made some fine saves, Cathal Mulryan, who scored 0-2 from corner back, Daniel Collins, Adrian Nolan at centre-back, Gearoid Armstrong, and the industrious Conor McNamara.

The Connacht champions will play the Munster champions Coláiste Chríost Rí (Cork ) in the All-Ireland semi-final in the coming weeks and they will know they will have to play for the full 60 minutes if they are to reach the 2011 Hogan Cup final.



Page generated in 0.1138 seconds.