Some mystifying decisions  

Last Sunday Frank Kinneen became the first referee in Galway football in 37 years (since Tom Boyle, Ballinasloe, in 1972 and 1973 ) to referee the county senior final in consecutive years.

He also took charge of last year’s drawn county final between Mountbellew and Corofin.

Both Killererin and Corofin supporters, and especially those who were neutrals at the game, felt some of the decisions given were inexplicable and unfathomable.

One decision in particular had everyone I met after the game baffled, so I checked it out.

Cathal Silke (yes, he is related ) fouled Michéal Boyle after both Boyle and the ball had gone out over the end line.

The correct decision was a yellow card for the foul, if merited, and a kick-out to the Corofin goalkeeper.

However the St James’ man awarded a free in, despite the ball being out of play when the foul took place. 

It was a crucial free which Padraic Joyce expertly dispatched as usual which put his team three to the good.

However the decision is not covered under the GAA rule book and should not have been awarded.

I enquired this week with a few different referees, both local and inter-county, and they told me the decision was erroneous. 

If the ball is gone out of play, the referee cannot give a free kick for something that happens subsequently.


Page generated in 0.0953 seconds.