Galway minor footballers face fancied Cork

The Galway minor footballers are in action this Sunday (1.30pm ) in the 2010 All-Ireland semi-final at Croke Park where they face a fancied Cork side.

This Galway side was beaten by Mayo in the Connacht final after conceding a few goals in the second half, but they bounced back to record a good win over Longford in the All-Ireland quarter-final at Hyde Park.

Cork beat Armagh in their quarter-final and hit 3-11 in the process, although they did concede 0-19.

The team management, led by Gerry Fahy, announced the starting line-up on Tuesday evening, and there are a few changes from the side that defeated Longford.

Colm MacDonnacha from Leitir Mór comes back into the side at corner back after a knee injury and replaces the injured Philip Ezergalis (Moycullen ).

Thomas Flynn has also recovered from injury and takes his regular spot at midfield where he partners Claregalway’s Eoghan Commins.

Gerry Fahy and his backroom team have put in considerable work in the last 10 months and they are hopeful they can reach the final against a powerful Tyrone outfit which defeated Mayo last weekend.

Having studied some of Cork’s games on DVD, Fahy acknowledges that Cork are a quality outfit, but he has a lot of faith in his panel.

“The mood is very good and positive in our camp,” he says. “ Things have been going very well in training since the win over Longford and all the lads are really looking forward to playing in Croke Park on Sunday. A lot of the panel are young enough for minor next year too and it is great to see Galway footballers taking on the best teams in the country in Croke Park in championship.

“Playing big games in August and September is where we want to see Galway teams in action, and next Sunday will be a great experience and a big test for our panel.

“They will have to play better than they have at any time this season to win, but that is the challenge they have to rise to. They have been moving really well in training and we need them to produce that kind of performance next Sunday if we are to advance.”

Galway minors: James Keane (Barna ), Colm MacDonnacha (Leitir Mór ), James Shaughnessy (Ballinasloe ), Paul Varley (Cortoon ), Mark Loughnane (St Gabriels ), Marcus Kelly (Ballinasloe ), Jack Vaughan (Clifden ), Eoghan Cummins (Claregalway ), Thomas Flynn (Athenry ), Niall Quinn (Tuam Stars ), Fiontán Ó Curraoin (Michéal Breathnach ), Niall Walsh (Killanin ), Peadar Ó Gríofa (Michéal Breathnach ), Conor Rabbitte (Kilkerrin/Clonberne ), Shane Maughan (St Micheals ).

• Throw-in is at 1.30pm and the game is being broadcast live by Galway Bay FM and on RTÉ 2 television.


Page generated in 0.2017 seconds.