Salthill u-14s join seniors in a national final

Salthill Devon will have another team in a national final after the ladies’ u-14 team advanced after an impressive 3 - 1 semi-final win on Sunday.

By coincidence, the u-14s overcame Peamount United in Dublin, the same opponents the senior ladies will meet this Sunday in the second final which the club will contest.

Following a tight opening quarter, Salthill took the lead on 20 minutes when a brilliant through ball from Cadhla Gillen sent Aoife Walsh clear. Showing great composure, she rounded the Peamount keeper Emilie Doyle and from the narrowest of angles found the net with a superb left-footed strike.

Their joy was short lived, however, as the home team equalised 10 minutes later when Ciara Lacey volleyed home following a goalmouth scramble.

Salthill, with the aid of the breeze, continued to press and were rewarded on the stroke of half time when captain Shauna Fox's long-range effort nestled in the roof of the Peamount net.

Despite facing into a strong wind in the second half, Salthill dominated with their short passing game suiting the conditions. They scored a deserved goal on 55 minutes when Ciara Lynagh finished to the net following good build up play from Roisin Jacob and Aoife Walsh.

Cadhla Gillen and Shauna Fox were outstanding at the back and were ably assisted by goalkeeper Caoimhe O'Reilly, Sara Cahill and Kerrie Flaherty. Gillen's duel with Peamount's star player Rebekah Carroll was one of the highlights of the game with the Salthill player getting the better of the exchanges. In midfield Katie Carter and Ciara Lynagh controlled the game and both combined well with Shauna Gallagher and Roisin Jacob on the wings. Up front Aoife Walsh and Eavan Lowndes were a handful for the overworked Peamount defence. Salthill can face cup holders Longford Town in the final on August 8.

Salthill: Caoimhe O'Reilly, Shauna Fox, Sara Cahill, Kerrie Flaherty, Cadhla Gillen, Roisin Jacob, Ciara Lynagh, Katie Carter, Shauna Gallagher, Aoife Walsh, Eavan Lowndes. Subs, Rebecca Rooney, Emily Naughton, Cara Withero.


Page generated in 0.1738 seconds.