Corinthians go top of Junior Cup honours

Corinthians celebrated another Connacht Junior Cup win on Sunday, overcoming Sligo in a highly competitive encounter at the Galway Sportsground.

The Galway city side has now overtaken UCG in the cup honours list, having waited since 2006 to claiming their 14th crown.

Corinthians, stronger up front, claimed the game’s only try which proved decisive against a Sligo outfit who looked sharp out wide.

Paddy Pearson opened the soring for Sligo with a penalty after 10 minutes before coutnerpart Barry O’Sullivan replied with a super touch-line effort.

Crucially it was Corinthians who struck for the try as they piled the pressure on Sligo. Failing to clear their lines, Corinthians seized the opportunity and from a kick ahead O’Sullivan scored and converted.

Sligo, showing attacking flair, were rewarded after an expansive move was finished off by flanker Simon Coutler, and adding the extras, Sligo had closed the gap to 10 - 8.

However Corinthians’ superiority up front edged tem further ahead with O’Sullivan posting a penalty, and although Sligo carved out scoring chances, Corinthians’ defence held out to secure the trophy.

It was a double success for the Galway outfit who also saw off Belfast Harlequins in their AIB League division three encounter by 22 - 11 on Saturday.

Although the visitors were quick off the mark with a penalty, Corinthians struck for a well-worked try from Darren Classens, with outhalf Shane Mulally adding the conversion and a penalty for a 10 - 3 lead. Another two tries from hooker Karl Egan and winger James Buckley ensured the home side went in at the break 22 - 6 in front.

Quins threw everything at Corinthians in the second half and were rewarded with a try from ex Ireland and player/coach Andy Ward, but they could not close the gap.

Corinthians Junior Cup XV: R Ferguson; K Russell, R Forbes, C Begley, C Dunne; B O’Sullivan, H Griffin; B Barrett, A Walsh, C O’Shea; J Dilleen, S Murphy; M Byrne, S Gerrity, B McCann. Replacement: A O’Toole, C Raftery.

Sligo Junior Cup XV: D Gerrity; T Mulvany, J Farrington, G Foley, J Ripon; P Pearson, B Leahy; A McHale, G Conneely, J East; J Wilson, J Bowes; C Culhane, S Coulter, P Mullan. Replacement: T Sweeney, A Spring, R Mannion

Corinthians 1st XV v Harlequins; D Classens, J Buckley, E Griffin,W Williams, M Flynn, S Mulally, E Flynn, D Buckley, K Egan, D Small, P Cunningham, G Ward, S Conneeley, L Carpenter, A Casanova.


Page generated in 0.1163 seconds.