Support your local bands, DJs, and singers for Meteor 2010 awards

Galway Bay FM’s Jon Richards.

Galway Bay FM’s Jon Richards.

Today is the final day for the public to nominate bands and artists for the Meteor’s Hope For 2010 Awards and there is a host of Galway bands and singers long listed for the prize.

The Hope For 2010 award is presented to the solo artist and band that is judged to have the best potential to make the breakthrough to bigger things over the year.

Of the 150 bands/artists long listed, these will be whittled down to 10 in each of the two sections after voting closes tonight.

The Galway solo artists who are up for nomination and who need your votes are Loughrea singer-songwriter Ultan Conlon, Corofin singer-songwriter Keith Mullins, and roots, folk, country singer Linda Welby.

Galway bands up for nomination and who need your votes are The Ralphs and The Coonics, both from Tuam. Also up are bands with strong Galway connections such as Identity Parade, Van Cleef (led by Galwegian Mark Commins ), and Walter Mitty & The Realists.

The 10 entries that receive the most public votes will go to The Music Industry Panel who will choose the best five entries. These five entries become Round Two and will return to public voting on February 2. The public can then vote for their favourite via online or text voting. The entry that receives the most public votes will be the winner.

Only one vote per entry from a given URL will be counted on a daily basis. You can vote for your favourite artists each day, but only a single vote for each will be counted. There is no benefit to multiple voting, they will not be counted.

Galway is potentially in line for plenty of Meteor award glory as Galway Bay FM’s Jon Richards has been nominated in the Best Regional DJ category, while Athenry vocalist/composer Julie Feeney is nominated in the Best Irish Female category.


Page generated in 0.3074 seconds.