New Left grouping emerges on new county council

A new independent and left leaning political grouping has emerged on the Galway County Council to challenge the Fianna Fail and Fine Gael camps.

The five councillors in the new group represent the geographical spread of County Galway. Under the chairmanship of Independent Connemara councillor Seosamh Ó Cuaig, the new group includes Cllr Sean Canney from Tuam, Sinn Féin’s Dermot Connolly from Ballinasloe, Loughrea Independent Cllr Pat Hynes, and Republican Sinn Féin’s Cllr Tomas Ó Curraoin from Bearna.

It is the smallest group on the council. Fine Gael with the support of the former PDs and Labour’s Colm Keaveney have 17 and the Fianna Fail group including Michael ‘the Stroke’ Fahy have eight.

However the group has already shown its collective strength by securing the chair of a Special Policy Committee and positions on the Vocational Education Committee, on the Policing Committee and on the Western Regional Authority.

The group is also planning to oppose the planned cutbacks being planned by the Fianna Fail and Green Government.

“It is the duty of the new group to fight for the rights of the young, the aged, the weak, the vulnerable, and the workers,” said Cllr Ó Cuaig. “Others can look after the sleazy speculators, the dodgy developers, and the bi-location bankers


Page generated in 0.1709 seconds.