Galway have the answers to Tyrone questions as they win opener

Galway 0-16 Tyrone 0-13

Ultimately it proved to be a satisfying Saturday evening in Salthill for Galway. A spirited Tyrone outfit posed questions, but Galway summoned the necessary answers.

Finding a way to survive in these types of tense matches is what Galway have been able to do, especially in the past 18 months.

Frank Burns' 19th minute red card for a foul on Jack Glynn ensured Tyrone played the majority of the game with 14 men.

Throughout the second period Tyrone narrowed the deficit, but Galway, prompted by Paul Conroy at centrefield, always responded.

That was the most pleasing aspect for the locals, who led 0-7 to 0-4 at the interval.

Shane Walsh clipped a couple of sweet scores early on from play, while Cillian McDaid also ventured forward impressively.

Galway's patient approach ensured they were 0-5 to 0-3 in front by the 15th minute.

Then Burns was red carded before the influential Conroy struck a splendid effort from play.

Niall Morgan was black carded so Tyrone were down to 13 for 10 minutes, but Galway only registered one score in that spell courtesy of Peter Cooke.

Darren McCurry, who was effective for Tyrone, replied with a pointed free to leave three points between the teams at the turnaround.

When the action recommenced Tyrone rifled over three of the first four points as the margin was reduced to the minimum, 0-8 to 0-7.

Galway, though, came thundering back with Shane Walsh, Matthew Tierney, Paul Conroy, McDaid, and substitute Rob Finnerty raising white flags helping to edge them 0-13 to 0-9 in front.

McCurry's sharp free taking kept Tyrone in the reckoning, but Galway were doing enough as they were two clear with four minutes remaining.

An inspirational point from Damien Comer was followed by a Walsh free to nudge Galway into a 0-16 to 0-12 advantage.

McCurry replied with a free, but Tyrone were unable to grab the goal that was required. Galway collected the spoils to start what promises to be a particularly interesting group.

Scorers for Galway: Shane Walsh 0-6 (4fs ), Paul Conroy, Cillian McDaid, and Peter Cooke 0-2 each, Matthew Tierney, Rob Finnerty, Johnny Heaney, and Damien Comer 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tyrone: Darren McCurry 0-7 (5fs ), Darragh Canavan 0-2 (2fs ), Conor Meyler, Cormac Quinn, Peter Harte, and Mattie Donnelly 0-1 each.

Galway: Connor Gleeson; Jack Glynn, Seán Kelly, Johnny McGrath; Dylan McHugh, John Daly, Cillian McDaid; Paul Conroy, John Maher; Matthew Tierney, Johnny Heaney, Peter Cooke; Ian Burke, Damien Comer, Shane Walsh.

Subs: Cathal Sweeney for Glynn (20 ), Rob Finnerty for McHugh (35+3 ), Tomo Culhane for Burke (HT ), Cian Hernon for Maher (50 ).

Tyrone: Niall Morgan; Michael McKernan, Padraig Hampsey, Ronan McNamee; Conor Meyler, Cormac Quinn, Peter Harte; Brian Kennedy, Conn Kilpatrick; Frank Burns, Michael O'Neill, Joe Oguz; Darren McCurry, Mattie Donnelly, Darragh Canavan.

Subs: Sean O'Donnell for Oguz (50 ), Niall Devlin for O'Neill (57 ), Kieran McGeary for O'Donnell (58-60, blood ), Michael McGleenan for McNamee (66 ), Ruairí Canavan for D Canavan (70+1 )

Referee: David Gough (Meath ).


Page generated in 0.0937 seconds.